Varkala - The Arrival


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
December 25th 2008
Published: December 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Varkala - The Arrival

There's something really special about waking up on a train in a different location. We fell asleep in the state of Tamil Nadu and woke up in Kerela, quoted as God's own land. I can see why. From the moment I woke up, which was roughly around sunrise, I had my gaze out the window. The countryside was superb. I figured I would never see it again so I might as well absorb as much of it as possible.

We got off the train and went straight to the cliff. This is where most tourists stay. It's a long strip, along which you'll find allt he hotels, resorts and restaurants you'll need. Right below you'll find the best beach I've seen since I've been in India. The water is the perfect temperature. It isn't too hot. Before hitting the beach, we checked into our guesthouse.

After the beach we both had yet another cold shower and went exploring our new surrounding. We must have walked up and down that strip about 20 times before we settled on taking in a drink at the Funky Art bar. This is the most happening place in Varaka. The staff are very entertaining, and never, not even in my years are university, have I ever been more encouragedto drink alcohol! It pays though, most cocktails cost more than a main course! They cocktails aren't too bad, they are made with local liquer but with enough lime juice squeezed it's practically bareable! 😉

Within two days the first of our visitors arrived. Kate's boyfriend Rich joined us. It was very nice to welcome a new face and watch him pleasure in the new ideal surroundings. He brought with him some wonderful little treats, namely, a bottle of champers for Christmas dinner and every other item we requested on our shopping list. Good man!

I have yet to marvel at one very important feature about Varkala and that is the seafood! You will notice I have taken many photos of fish.. I was in awe at the variety they had to offer. I had never even heard of white snapper before, or angel fish and the butterfish was enormous here! They can be grilled in garlic and lemon and most places also do tandoori. It's really special. Up until this point we had only been eating veg so it was a most welcomed change to be eating fish.

I'm not sure where that week went but before we knew it we were back on a train and on our way to Allepey to meet the boys and spend 22 hours on a houseboat! Check it out in my next chapter.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb