Varkala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
July 21st 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Heyhey, well... went to a pretty little beach close by today called Varkala. It is about 40km north of Trivandrum and was exactly what I needed, tranquil and sunny. The sea was too rough to be swimming in though. there were coconut trees all along the cliff edge, we went to this beach that we call cow beach (becasue there were cows on it), and had a little paddle but the undercurrents were too strong. I also found out that I am rubbish at frisbee.

And finally had my first day working in a hospital. It was good. The hospital is so modern and so much better equipped than anything in Cambodia. For the first day went to casulty for the morning and then there wasnt really much going on so I went into surgery for a bit in the afternoon and saw my first human operation. Somebody had managed to fracture just underneath the pelvis and the doctors were pinning it back together. Got very messy, but all the doctors seem friendly.

I am quite surprised how much more developed India is than Cambodia, there isnt as much poverty here at all, and the medical care avaliable is sooo mcuh better, and, its free, unoless they are going privately. It was really cool yesterday, found this really funky coffee house that was literally a spiral, I shall have to upload some pictures to show you what it was like, but it was soo cool.

Religion in India is very important to many peoples hearts and I think its odd how many strict Christians live in the country, as well as Hindus and Muslims. They are all devoted to their religion and usually complely follow it.

I am glad that I am able to live my tea addiction again!!! I didnt know tea came from India... haah but I do now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Palm TreePalm Tree
Palm Tree

Me literally reading under a palm tree!


21st July 2008

Kerala
Sounds great Megz. wish I could see it. Upload some photo's to give us all an idea of what its like. love you Dad xxxxx
21st July 2008

Janet and Jim
Heya Janet, sorry, it wont let me reply to your message and I dont have your email so I thought I would reply on here. We are staying really close to the hospital so its all good and the accommodation and everything is good (despite all the mosquitoes) hope to hear from you soon Megan x

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb