In awe of Varkala..


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
February 28th 2008
Published: February 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've spent 3 nights here.. and I could stay longer.. Its more touristy, western, and catered to tourists if anything.. but its still a peaceful hidden city... I hear Kovalam is over-saturated with tourits and expensive hotels.. this hotel here is costing me about 14$ a night, and 12$ for last night ( i talked him down ).. im about to check out and board the train to Trivandrum.. a big city.. I will stay there a night..

i'd say about 1/3 the people here are from Tibet.. some came 10 years ago.. some 30.. some more.. The people here have been absolutely the friendliest bunch I have met.. the travelers as well as the natives.. There is not one person you miss saying good morning, good afternoon, hello too.. and they remember you.. and it could also be i stick out like a sore thumb.. Yesterday around 2:30.. I found that the train would take off at 5:30 to Trivandrum.. I wasn't sure I wanted to do that since I didn't want to travel late at night, or be at a train station after sunset.. but I took a nap to see where it would take me.. instead I woke up at 7, and knew I would be staying another night.. (Plus, they were charging me 300 rupees - 8$ for half day stay).. Another night in Varkala it is..

I walked out to do some shopping as I havent really yet.. as I stopped at my first shop.. the power went out.. QUITE SCARY! so I ran out to the next restaurant over filled with candle light.. I have been use to eating alone, as it is quite peaceful.. and you are also not as pressured to eat everything as you are when you are with a crowd, if you have noticed.. statistics show one eats at least 1/3 more when dining w/others.. but anyways, a hippie older gentlemen in the next table invited me over to their table.. I accepted the offer, the more the merrier, the more to learn about.. This man was in his 50s.. from Southern Switz.. and it was obvious he was a stud back in his days.. he reminded me a bit of that Scuba instructor in Along Came polly.. but with a better looking face.. he is staying in Varkala for about 3-4 months.. just doing yoga everyday and relaxing.. he is a business owner as well.. and I have concluded that that is the way to go.. the only way one will ever have that flexibility to travel.. The other gentlemen sitting at the table was in his 60s or 70s.. from Athens, Greece, also here for a few months just relaxing, retired.. Soon, a lady from Greece joined, another from Switzerland joined.. and then a couple, a white guy (forget his origin) who had been traveling for 7 years out of his native country.. and now a yoga instructor on the beach (which is who every one learned from..) and his japanese girlfriend (who left Japan 9 months ago and dont intend on going back.. ).. I imagine he met her in Japan and took her with him.. A whole inner circle of laid-back Global Travelers in Varkala for the Yoga I loved it.

The restaurant was Cafe Italliano. Anything Indian here is completely bland and near disgusting at times.. but Im taking a rest from Indian food.. I ordered a bruschetta pesto.. and a greek salad.. it was very bland, but better than disgusting.. And at the table, like many others.. we all learned about each other, etc. The old man from Greece, very fatherly, stated when I go to Greece, that I could stay at their guesthouse for free. It was a genuine offer, and not the sleezy type.. rather the retired grandfather type that was very hospitable.. he talked about his 26 year old son who had a boat and his business was sailing.. who would take me on his boat when I went to Greece.. and his daughter who is my age.. teaching horseback riding in New Zealand.. I could sense the love, caringness and the proud father talk when he spoke of his children.. I will surely call him and his family when we visit Greece.. HOPEFULLY THIS SUMMER !?!?!?!!!!!

After dinner, I thought I'd be in the mood to get some drinks but was tired again.. I went for a short scroll, said hello to the locals.. and became more and more curious about the Tibets here.. Which I will make an effort to learn more about before I leave.. I ignited a conversation with a store owner sitting outside of his store.. like all other warm locals, he invited me to sit down.. and told me he came to India just when he was born, fled from Tibet.. I asked if he liked it here.. he shrugged and said "its just the way it is.."..

I bought a book on my way back since I finished "China Dolls" - a major chick flick filled with hysterical Chinese stereotypes of a young female in a Traditional family.. I picked up "Yoga Hotel" for $5 which was way overpriced for a used book, but just took it since I had no energy to bargain more.. which are short stories based in India written by an English girl who's parents took her to India for business at an early age.. 50 pages in.. it's okay.. but allows passing time and some more insight into the culture.

Well Im off now to my first train ride, and rickshaw ride alone.

I noticed more than in the states.. I see some people with y-eyes.. I dont know the 'correct medical term'.. but its probably the lack of medical care.. I also saw my first man with Cleft.. first man with Leprosy, limping around trying to sell souvenirs..

Im sure I will see a lot more poverty once Im in the north at Varanassi.... Ahhhh Im excited!!!

Advertisement



28th February 2008

Love your blog
dear friend i love your blog as it comes out naturally. Ramesh getIndiaVacation.com
28th February 2008

Yes Greece this summer! And that is great that you have a contact person for us all haha! That is really great about all the travelers that you are meeting along the way! I think that is one great way to bond with strangers..to know that you are all in a foreing country and do not presonally know many people in the area! Sounds like you are really getting along with a lot of people..I am very glad about that! And I am excited to read about the North (and your train ride)! Have fun and be safe! Miss you! P.S. Oooo cleft palates are very intense/sad if they havent been treated! I have NEVER seen anyone with Leprosy but that must have been very sad too!
28th February 2008

Ooops
Haha oops forgot to fill out the top of the last message (about going to Greece this summer, awesome that you are meeting foreigners, and the tragedy of untreated cleft palates!) but it was from me..

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb