Varkala again


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Varkala
January 14th 2007
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Elephant festivalElephant festivalElephant festival

Lots of fun. Went with some canadians. There were over 50 elephants! People were hanging from all the buildings around, and not one of the elephants veered off course - which is a good job as this is India where the best spot is about a metre from the marching elephant's legs.
And then, with the onset of fever, I sensibly crawled back to the comfort of Varkala. It must be noted that even sickness does not put an Indian off the usual barrage of questions. When I was so hot I didn't think I could manage the rickshaw ride to the hospital, the doctor who I saw laid me down on the couch, gave me tablets (after i refused an injection) and then started the time-old....
So what country are you from?
... erm England ....
What part of England?
... London...
Ah, my son is in London, he works at the hopsital in Birmingham, he's a doctor... do you know it?
.... erm..... yes... no...
Do you follow cricket?
............ erm........
😊

Anyway, after I recovered there was an elephant festival


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb