Arrival in Kerala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kozencherry
July 21st 2005
Published: July 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I have finally arrived in Kerala. When I got here last night I was a little disappointed. Neither the center nor the state were quite what I had expected and I was feeling quite homesick. However, now that I've started classes and seen a little bit of the surrounding area, my outlook is brightening. The center is four or five buildings scattered throughout a quite small village. About 2 km away is Kozencherry, the closest big town. After breakfast this morning (served on banana leaves and eaten with one's hands) I took the bus to Kozencherry (except I got off at the wrong stop and had to walk a kilometer to get there) to hit the ATM. While I was there, I bought some black fabric to have the tailor down the road from the center make me a sari blouse. I don't really need a black one, but I thought it best to see his work on a fifty cent piece of fabric than on my good silk blouse pieces. He says he'll have it done tomorrow evening and it will cost just a dollar. While I was getting the fabric, I also bought a traditional Keralan sari (white with gold borders) and a lovely blue silk I think Karen will like. Then I had my first Mohiniattam class. Mohiniattam is a South Indian dance that is traditionally performed by females. Mohini is the female form of Vishnu. One of the legends in the Ramayana says that Shiva and Vishnu (both male) were alone in the forest, and Shiva begged Vishnu to show him Mohini, who was famed for her beauty. Vishnu easily saw where this was going, but Shiva is a great convincer. Well, of course, Vishnu became pregnant and gave birth out of his leg nine months later. The dance is supposed to be quite graceful, but it's all done in a half squatting position, and I've yet to capture the appropriate level of grace. I think I may have to try a different form of dance as I am having a hard time walking. My thighs are killing me and I've only had one lesson. I also had my first Hindi lesson which I am enjoying emensely. Later today I have another Mohiniattam lesson and Kalyapattriat (I think that's how you spell it), which is the Keralan form of martial arts. Tomorrow I begin yoga. I have a room to myself here, but I share a bathroom with two others. Most of the people here are between twenty five and thirty five, and we have quite an international group, though most are from the U.S. Most classes are done in traditional buildings made of coconut fronds and wood. The dining area is also an open coconut hut. The houses are mostly two story, and quite nice, with marble floors and TVs and those kinds of things. My cell phone doesn't work here, but tomorrow we are going to go see about buying a SIM card for it. apparently it's only $12 or something. Other than that all is well, and I'll post pictures soon (I know I keep saying that, but really I will).

Advertisement



21st July 2005

i'm glad you're overcoming your homesickness. i was worried that might happen when you left venki uncle and sue aunty. and you do need to post pictures! your classes sound neat. who needs a personal trainer when you've got mohiniattam? ;)
22nd July 2005

Kerala
What an amazing contrast between Kerala and where you previously were in India. Wherever you go, however, there seem to be saris for sale! I have lost count but it sounds like you have enough saris to wear a different one every day for the rest of your trip. Please tell us more about your new vegan diet. Are you craving a hamburger? Also, have you seen the temple elephant? Take care. Love, Jo
22nd July 2005

Wow. It sounds amazing. I finally got to a computer and had time to read all of your updates...i wish i could've gone with you, but as it is I'm still in illinois on my roadtrip and we won't be home for another week or so. I can't wait to see these pictures you keep threatening to post, and I have some pictures of my roadtrip that I think you'll find amusing. Anyways thats all for now. Have lots of fun for me.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb