Quick notes of March


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kottayam
May 4th 2009
Published: May 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

March flew like I can't even tell you and April was even faster. This is the rundown of March, but soo much more happened. There will be a REAL newsletter for April very soon, I promise!

March:

My dear friends (and fellow wardens) Soni and Sherin left Mandiram to continue studies at the Orthodox Seminary, but I had a fantastic time with the girls at the orphanage even though studies were intense as countless state exams took place. The elderly Appachens and Amachees always keep life interesting and busy 😊. It was decided that my Lindsey, a volunteer in this program through the Presbyterian church would be returning to the US immediately following our All-India tour in April, which brings me a lot of sadness, but it may turn out for the best as she will have time to readjust and work some before starting seminary in the fall at Princeton. For this month's volunteer meeting, we met my Achen's (Country Coordinator's) daughter's family and we all went on an enjoyable boat ride with them in Aluva.
I also experienced a Hindu festival complete with decorated elephants, musicians, dancing, and lights everywhere! It was a race from there on out to say my goodbyes for the next month as I would be traveling and in little contact. A very quick, but packed month!

Much love to all of you abroad and at home,
Rebecca


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0956s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb