Getting there....


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
August 1st 2011
Published: August 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 1-2
Mosquito bites 0
Diarrhoea 0
Sickness 0

So the flight went ok, quite fast for 7 hours. A guy (who asked to sit next to his friend which was next to me) was from dehli and offered to show me around, take me to Taj Mahal etc. I thought mint, met someone already! Wasn't until i woke up with him holding my hand and his head on my shoulder that i thought....erm maybe not.

Got to Dubai airport, which is the epicentre of the world btw, and then flew 3 hours or so to Kochi/Cochin-which i slept.

Got my suitcase off carousel, and handle broke. It was ok though, because the wheeler-handle thingy was still working. Got my taxi, by a lovely man who only spoke Malayalam, who laughed for a good 15 minutes, when he realised (somehow) that i was alone, and didn't speak the language! He pulled up outside the YWCA, where i was supposed to be staying, when the guard said that the office was closed as it was a holiday - (sunday). A few women walking past into the hostel stopped and asked me who i was and where i was going (very nosy but very kind and friendly everyone is so far- but i have since been told i have been lucky only to meet such people!). Anyway these girls said I shouldn't stay here if I am working in Kothanmangalam (which i can now pronounce), and i should stay there. But as I was jet lagged, my bag was broken, didn't have a clue where i was, i decided to base in the hotel next door for the night and search for hostels to go to tomorrow- which in hindsight was a good choice as I needed the sleep to think clearly!

Got into the hotel room (Rs670= about just under a tenner), man carried bag (2flghts) of stairs for me, i dragged it into room, and the wheeler-handle thingy broke. Great. Now it was unusuable completely.
(At this point I laughed! Although looking back I'm wondering at that point why i wasn't crying!)

Went to sleep for like 5 hours.

Got up, looked at internet for hostels- never a good thing when they aren't even on google maps, went for dinner - yes by self - in dark - down random streets. Then realised cinema was up road by my handbook - went there - (buying new backpack on way) watched cowboys and aliens- which was the worst film I have ever seen, but worth it listening to everyone laugh at random parts, clap at other parts, and stop the film in the middle for an interval. Then went back to hotel, re-packed, showered, bed.

Next day got taxi to Kothanmangalam (1.5 hr away), and found hostel- st annes hostel for ladies. The owner was puzzled that I was there, and explained there was no room for me. Gutted. Then he said- there is no room for you by yourself, only with other 2 girls sharing and communal bathroom. At this point I couldnt care less, i just wanted to shove my stuff somewhere, and find someone in the hospital who knew me/why i was there/where i was supposed to be. I saw the room, said fine. The owner must have taken a liking to me as he then offered coffee sat me in his office and said he would take me to the hospital. That he did, came in with me, found the administrator, waited with me until a doctor came.

Phew. Someone just said roody. (Man who helped arrange elective). Mint. Sorted.

Yes- you come, as he pointed to a big massive black four by four. I think i must have been so happy someone just said roody, because i got in, no questions asked. And the driver started driving up into the hills.

Now i was thinking he must be either taking me to roody, or the doctor I'm supposed to be working with. (to be honest i was in a high car with air con- i was happy, no matter where he was taking me). He was called Bazil.

He took me to the Engineering college. How bizarre. All these men shaking my hand. Took me into another office, met the principle. Clueless. Then someone called Winny introduces himself, principle of the arts college down the road, this is roody's brother.

-Sigh of relief-

He hands me an email from roody, saying my hotel and hospital are in Cochin (where i have just travelled from). These things can only happen to me. But says his driver will take me back etc. Ah well back into the air con jeep. Winny rings Roody who speaks to me, explains things, how i am to meet a doctor at hospital in cochin when i get back then go to the room the doc has booked.

1.5hr back.

Hospital v busy - will write about it next time when i have more energy! (just finished first shift in casualty)

Room- IMA house - International Medical Ass. or something - is beautiful, tall skyscraper (nothing like I have experienced so far). Taken to room by manager who explains anything i need just ring, hes organised me lunch in my room, and dr abraham (roodys brother in law) will visit tonight. Room service. Taxi booked in morning (warned only to use this and not the autos around town - which i have been doing!)

Have a little cry as i cannot believe the difference in india, what i have experienced in the past 2 days.. a hostel for 30/month incl food and drink, to a room that costs cheaper than my leeds apartment 314/month incl room service pool and spa.

Can now settle, unpack my massive backpack (that everyone keeps laughing at), and look forward to sights i will endure next.



Advertisement



2nd August 2011

God Bless You Child
Glad you have had a real adventure - although I note it didn't take you long to break hearts - starting with the plane guy. Obviously he was an innocent nice stalker to have and now you have missed the opportunity! And I am so sorry about the air-bag - I need to send another apology letter to you. Make friends with the girls at the place you are staying - and go around with them (safer than going to the movies by yourself) Have fun (and keep the bites and diarhhoea count down to below 1000 if possible)
4th August 2011

what a start
only 2 days and so much going on, can't wait for the next instalment. Stay safe Stu

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb