Happy Hannukah!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
December 23rd 2006
Published: December 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

I know I'm a little overdue for a blog entry, but I just wanted to send some holiday greetings out during the festive season.

I'm now in southwest India, along the coast amidst tropical forests, amazing beaches, and mile after mile of forested wetlands and river systems known as "the backwaters." Since my last post, I spent a week in Northern Kerala basically taking a breather from all the travel. I was relaxing for a whole week mostly watching movies and reading, doing yoga, working out, hiking, and taking some time for myself. Then I met up with a friend in Goa at Anjuna beach, where we did nothing for three days but sit on the beach, take some yoga classes, and enjoy fantastic seafood.

We're now down in Kochin, one of India's few places with a Jewish heritage, so we were able to celebrate Hannukah last night at an old hotel called the Koder House after visiting Kochin's historic synagogue (dating back to the 16th century) .... naturally, I've left the work to the wikipedia folks again for historical background.



In the near future, I'll give a more detailed report on all the comings and goings of the last couple weeks, but at present photo upload is very slow, which doesn't make for good blog entries. Also, I've got to catch a bus this morning to head out for another national park visit, so time is short!

In any case friends, Happy Hannukah, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!


David


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Goan Beach SunsetGoan Beach Sunset
Goan Beach Sunset

Completely un-hannukah related ... but here's a view from Anjuna Beach in Goa (three days ago) for all you winter lovers out there!


23rd December 2006

hurrah!
Happy Hannukah to you both! Tell us more of your adventures when the moment comes to you. soak it all in. TDC
23rd December 2006

Banana Slugs Rule!
Dear David Douglas-fir, Your blog is amazing! I plan to share your photos and stories with my family while I am home for winter break in Modesto. It's wonderful to see photos and read about the country from which my name comes ("satya" means "truth" in Hindi). Thank you for sharing your adventure with friends and family. Happy Hannukah, and may the spirit of the Fellowship be with you in your travels. Go Colts! All the best, Satya Slug
24th December 2006

happy hannukah!
david, happy hannukah to you! we miss you and hope you are enjoying every day of this adventure. with love, katie, todd and matthew
28th December 2006

The newest Jew
Hi David, While I am not quite aJ ew yet i did celebrate Hannukah a little bit with the Westermans. I hope you had a great Hannukah. I see that you have had a wonderful trip and I wish you more fun, adventure and peace in Africa.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb