Unbelievable!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mysore
July 23rd 2007
Published: July 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've almost have no words for my experience here! My mind has been blown away and my horizons definately expanded ten fold! getting to the train station in Bangalore was a feat itself. My backpack felt like a ton of bricks-btw-not so fun!- Of course my train was on the direct opposite side of the train station...one hundred steps up and a long jaunt accross to the other side & back down a steep stair case! THe views from the trian to Mysore were nothing short of spectacular. Neatly arranged farming crops of sugar cane ( I was told that this was the Havana of India) THe farmers were apparantly rich as they were on the bank of a famous river that supplied water to almost all the south. Their was a huge protest of hundreds of people lying down on the tracks, so the train had to stop for a good hour. The gentleman sitting beside me was brillaint, but really did NOT stop talking!! He taught at a uni in Bangalore MBA - He was very knowledgable and taught me man things about India. Did you know that India has a Prime MInister that is elected by the people and a President that is elected by the cabinet? BOth! He was also well versed in Palm reading and it's variable theories. THis he didnt' shut up about until I told him that I wasn't interested in knowing the future-I lived in the present moment and appreicate the now-he was quite taken aback by this comment ( I knew this only cause he was actually quiet for a WHOLE MINUTE!) He gave me his didgits in Mysore in case I needed anyting! Lucky again I am.

Upon arrival I couldn't find the "guy" I had arranged to pick me up from the rail staion. I knew beforehand that I was getting ripped off, but I didnt' care! At this point, safety meant more than a few bucks. I searched and searched and finally came upon a young Indian boy with a huge grin holding up a sign that read "Welcome to Mysore Fanula Lacatus"

He didnt' speak a word of English which made for a very interesting ride to the hotel. THere seemed to be a very high number of cows roaming the streets and we also got stopped by the cops at one point. THey exchanged some aggressive words, which I was not privy too, and he then turned to me and said "wait" He got out and left me alone in the car for what seemed like an eternity with everyone, once again staring at me!

He returned shortly after, with "i'm sorry madame" and drove off. To this day, I still have no idea what transpired en route to the Maurya residency where I am staying.

At the hotel, there were some changes that needed to be made..cleaning of room, changing of room..usual stuff here..and with about 8 people in the room saying things to each other while I witness and have no clue about any ongoings! The staff seem very freindly..but no real ENglish!

I was starving but dinner wasn't starting for a while. They eat soooooooo late here. I was 'lucky' eough to meet (he came up to my room)a local travel agent that I could only describe as a blood sucking mosquito, hungry after a long moonson rain..hungry for my money! It was all about charging twic the amount for things He eve wanted to charge me for a free brochure from the front desk depicting tours and the local map! Unbelievable this guy! He wants business, advertises it, and wants to have you pay for it too..the brochure that is!

I tried to get a hold of Saraswathi, who I'd be practicing yoga with. It was my umteenth phone call to her as she doens't ever seem to answer. I really wanted to just lye in bed as I was still ill and fevering up. Note to all-getting sick in India and being alone sucks!-dont' try it at home folks!

Anyways, I had to get my ass out of bed and find the shala-I quickly figure out where the local pre paid auto stop was (my homing skills are now divine!) and I was off..once again, to the absolute unknown! Upon arriving at Sri Phatabi Jois' house, i was so overwhlemed-wasnt' this the pinacle of my trip? My inspiration for going to India in the first place? Perhaps I had worked myself up so much and was a tad anxuious. After all, this guy was world renoun (sp)-the go to guy in Ashtanga Yoga: The Guruju! I was now standing at his gate.

A lovely young man wearing the most awesome t-shirt I've ever seen. It read "OM-I'm loving it!" Same golden arches on the M like a McDOnalds add! Clever!

HE introduced himself as the gate keeper and aksed me to wait while he got Sarasawthi for me (Guruju was upstairs resting).

She walked over from across the street-This beautiful woman! nothing like her pictures in books. SHe looks healthy and quite young.

I'm taking a break from writing to read cosmo..I'm getting a well deserved pedicure as i am writing this (journal form). I took a leap of faith to get some work done here. This place is unbeleivable..like a modern fairy tale of a place far off, unknown to all, and maybe a bit mythical. Write more in a bit!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb