Five days in Hampi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Hampi
November 3rd 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Friday, Oct 30th, Hampi - Karnataka

This morning was the first time in forever, that we took a yoga class. It was different, but not bad. Weird introduction… Whatever. We arrived in Hampi yesterday morning after a 14 hour bus ride. It was fun, but also totally exhausting. It was a sleeper bus, so picture this like a bus with a ton of bunk beds inside. Ok, if you ever decided you wanna take a bus in India, make sure, you didn’t have recent abdorminal surgery, you are pregnant, suffering from hernia, have any ulcers (sorry, inside joke ) No, seriously, it’s VERY BUMPY and shaky. But - we made it!!! We met some really nice guys from Sweden, one of them has been in Hampi twice already, so we kinda decided to follow them. So right now it’s seven of us staying at these small huts across the river in Hampi. Yesterday we didn’r trally do a lot. We all felt pretty hungover/jetlagged so we just wandered around and looked at some small temples. It is just the most amazing landside here. It looks like outta this world. Just these huge rocks and temples everywhere. Unfortunately there is no cell phone reception here. Just had a peanut butter toast for breakfast. Not really in a writing mood right now, so I’ll just stop for now!
Love ya!


Sunday, Nov 1st

I should have written earlier, cause so much happened during the past couple days… Friday we ended up renting bicycles and drove up to this lake. Around here the landscape’s so pretty it almost seems unreal. You see monkeys in the fields, jumping around with these huge rocks in the background that kinda look like a giant played Lego with them. The lake was awesome, really cold and refreshing. So there was like no one there when we got there and the spot was pretty much hidden, but the next time I turned around there were like 20 Indian men staring at Ellie and me. God, I was glad, Darius was with us. I don’t know what it is with Indian men around Hampi, but some of them seem to have a weird opinion about western women. You get stared at and hit on in the weirdest situations. I’m a bit annoyed of it right now, so I’m quite happy to leave to Bengalore tomorrow, where western women apparently don’t get stared at.
So after we left the first swimming spot we went to a second one, where we went to jump off 7m high rocks. Loved that! Afterwords I pretty much accidentally ran into Adrian from Bengalore who staying at our guest house as well. He’s awesome and he’s gonna show me around Bengalore, which I’m very excited about.


Moday, Nov 2nd

Somehow, I never found the time and silence to write during the last week. I always got interrupted somehow. Right now I’m on the bus to Begalore and it’s and overall pretty shaky and bumpy emperience. At least I got to change my bed. Now I have the very last one in the back and not the one next to he door. So hopefully, I’ll actually get some sleep tonight. I just hope that the streets get better, cause since I started this text, my laptop already jumped off my legs twice. This is most likely the last long distance bus journey. Next time, I’m gonna take the train.
Anyways, where did I leave off…Saturday was Halloween and first we went on a big temple tour. Lots of old ruins, amazing and very hard to describe. Just google Hampi and Temples if you wanna see more pics. At night we went to a Halloween party at another Guesthouse appr. 9 km away. Wait, it’s getting too bumpy, I can’t really type anymore… So I guess, more tomorrow…



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb