Let's Rock....and RIDE!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Hampi
November 17th 2007
Published: November 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I would hope my cousins, Jake and Joe would get the title reference as it really is quite clever. If not, then I guess I may be the only one other than Penner, but that's just fine with me.

After a sweet ass time in Badami it was time to head out where we'd finally be free of caves and instead subjected to the UNESCO protected ruins and boulders of Hampi.

While the town itself has ruins inside - along with Lakshmi the Elephant who'll bless you for 1 rupee - some of the greatest views and temples were spread all throughout the district in what could easily be a 5km radius from the town centre.

We arrived around midnight in Hospet and commenced to book a rickshaw to Hampi, 20 min away. Upon arrival, the first thing that caught me was the night sky and the bounty of stars. At midnight this supposed tourist town was completely shut down! Comforting, especially since the town is notorious for muggings (or so says the bible).

In total we ended up 2 days 3 nights (complete with midnight dog battle royales) in Hampi trying to cover all the ruins
Bless you...Bless you...Bless you...

For a rupee, which the elephant takes from you, he'll give you a blessing.
on our kick-ass bikes. Day 1 I had the Miss India Gold complete with handlebar basket, whereas penner had the bad-ass Hercules Thriller. Day 2 we both had the Thrillers, although the one I picked up was pretty shyte and Penner was left to fix the chain about every 5 minutes.

The ruins were wicked, amongst these boulders and palms, and the blue sky just made it all the more perfect.

Day two we went north across a river in a giant wicker basket for the purpose of checking out the home of the sex monkeys: Hanuman's temple. Monkeys were scattered amongst the boulders on our 570 stair climb, but fortunately we had some kids and sticks to protect us. I carried the bananas, as Penner is probably the only guy in the world who is more scared of the monkeys than myself.

One of the coolest bits of Hampi was when we ran into a swede, two french-canadians, and a german and we all (sans Penner) decided to head up to Pushkar for the camel fair. I had written this festival off, as it didn't seem likely i'd get there in time. But with a crew
Boulders in ruinsBoulders in ruinsBoulders in ruins

Wicked landscapes of massive boulders and the ruins of Vijayanagar are all over Hampi
now assembled, how could I not!?!?

The Cap and I had about 3 days in Goa together before I head north and he back to Sydney. More on this next post.

I'll let the pictures tell the rest of the tale...


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Contemplatin'Contemplatin'
Contemplatin'

Alone with my thoughts...and Penner taking the photo
More Vijayanagar ruinsMore Vijayanagar ruins
More Vijayanagar ruins

So many temples, so little time...
Heads shotHeads shot
Heads shot

Thats a lot of cool heads
Rock hard assRock hard ass
Rock hard ass

You and me both, ruins. You and me both...
More templesMore temples
More temples

We've seen so many temples, I can't even remember which ones these are. My bad.
Golden warriorGolden warrior
Golden warrior

Dare not venture into the Lotus Mahal's hallways, for fear of disturbing the Golden Warrior
Lost templeLost temple
Lost temple

Behind the elephant stables at the Zenana Enclosure
Jabba the Hut and Princess LeiaJabba the Hut and Princess Leia
Jabba the Hut and Princess Leia

Darwe kwan ah nee za beeen fol roki
Screw accounting...Screw accounting...
Screw accounting...

Why audit when you can carry bundles of sticks?
Penner needed a couple of rupeesPenner needed a couple of rupees
Penner needed a couple of rupees

That kid tried to screw us out of 460 rupees. Crafty Indians and their coracle schemes.
Amidst the boulders and palmsAmidst the boulders and palms
Amidst the boulders and palms

The coolest ruins scene by far, in my view.
Giant millipede (?) crossing the streetGiant millipede (?) crossing the street
Giant millipede (?) crossing the street

Way better than warthogs or sex monkeys
A welcome sightA welcome sight
A welcome sight

Beverage booths would be at each ruins location. A litre of water and a slice, please.
Goat herdingGoat herding
Goat herding

The woman actually charged us 20Rs for the pictures. Swindled!


24th November 2007

Princess Leia I am so impressed with this epic voyage. You've really put Luke to shame.
25th November 2007

Let's Rock... and RIDE!!!!
I named my Hampi story that same name!!!! PS. I got a ticket for peeing in public last night from 3 hot chick cops.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb