ENTRY 38 -- The Temple Opened


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Northern Areas
April 3rd 1987
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

An Excerpt from the Travel Journal of Nigel Fox (c. 1945)



ENTRY 38 -- The Temple Opened



In was in this valley of glorious mountains, with snow covered peaks reaching up into the blue sky that the secrets of the Ashram were revealed. From my experiences at the Ashram of Charity, I was beginning to get a taste of their beliefs and how they could be put into practice. To learn a little more about their background and teachings, I turned to the Ashram's well-stocked library. During the spare moments of each day I began to research the Mahatma in earnest. Laying several books out on the round, central table in the library, I positioned myself as close as I could to the open window in order to catch the breeze. I must admit I was disappointed. All of his teachings were as old as the hills: love, forgiveness and turn the other cheek. Nothing novel or inspired. I dare say he did not have an original bone in his body.

On one particularly hot day, with temperatures hovering at 80 degrees Fahrenheit, I dressed myself in my lightest attire (a kurta-qamiz), so that the moving air would cool my perspiration soaked skin through the light cotton. At this moment, my eyes fell upon an entire section of books written about human mating. Far more titillating than non-violence ad nauseam! Quickly confirming that I was the room's sole occupant, I continued to browse. Some of the books were extremely graphic, to the extent that they included paintings and drawings. A large, dark green book at the end of the row captured my attention, entitled, The Jade Flute.

Fascinated yet horrified, I took the bulky tome back to the table for a closer study. My eyes grew wide as I leafed through page after page of illustrative pictures. Aware of the blood rushing to my face, it became necessary to find a pocket handkerchief to wipe my dripping brow. I felt like such a scoundrel. As I dabbed my forehead, a startling sound broke my concentration. Someone was standing behind me, clearing their throat . . . her throat. Trying to nonchalantly close the book as I turned, the knowing look on Miss Wilkes' face indicated to me that she had seen the subject matter. What followed was a fervent, silent prayer that my mortification did not show.

"I see you have found a fascinating chapter in this region's past," she declared in her no-nonsense manner. "More stimulating than 'love your enemy' or 'return good for evil'!"

The shock of being found out must have registered on my face. She continued, in a reassuring voice: "Of course I am only speaking from second-hand knowledge, Mr. Fox. I myself have lived a life of chastity. However, I have studied the issue of human relations."

"Do you, indeed, think the acts described in this book are pleasurable, Miss Wilkes?" I asked, trying to keep my voice as unemotional as hers and hoping she would interpret my continuing pink complexion as a condition of the heat. We were surrounded by stacks of books. She seemed to be scrutinising my face, a most undecipherable look on her delicate features.




The Greatest Threat




I am loath to admit that I almost lost control at that moment. An unexpected and deliciously cool wind made my skin prickle in a tantalising manner. I continued to sit, totally mortified

"The world can only support one billion people." The words clanged upon my ear. I refocused and saw a nun gazing pensively at the heavy, green book. "After much soul-searching, Mr. Fox, I have come to the conclusion that the birth-control methods of abstinence and contraception are not appropriate for us in this valley." She looked at me for confirmation.

I did not know how to express my feelings. Instead, I briefly squeezed her hand and questioned, "Is overpopulation actually that much of a problem?"

"In a country like India where children are seen as an insurance policy in old age, parents have as many as they are able; especially if they have managed only to conceive girls. The problems come when there isn't enough land or resources to support the large family."

"What would the Mahatma say?"

"I really don't know. He, himself, surely must see that abstinence hasn't worked. To make matters worse, there is the problem of waste and pollution in the industrialised countries. They are destroying God's creation!" She was definitely worked up by this point. Her normally businesslike tone had risen to something resembling preaching.

We sat thus, for what seemed a long time, as she continued to articulate the enormity of the problem of overpopulation. "Gonads," she finally concluded, "are the greatest threat we face."

Gonads, I thought, are the greatest threat I face!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 22; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb