Delhi, and Srinagar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Srinagar
October 24th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Delhi on October 13th, at about 4 in the morning, I wasn't able to sleep so I hit streets and took some pictures. The first few days in Delhi we're so overwhelming, all the horns, people, animals, and smells left me needing to get the hell out of Delhi. So after 3 days in Delhi, I took a flight to Srinagar, in Jammu and Kashmir, where it was much calmer. In Srinagar I was staying on a houseboat on a lake, very beautiful and very relaxing, Once I had some time to reflect on what was happening I started to feel homesick, and really feel the culture shock. Early one morning, I went for a shikara ride out on the lake where you can hear all the muslim prayers echoing across the lake, we eventually arrived at a floating morning market, it was an unreal experience. After four days in Srinagar my options were limited, I could take a 12 hour bus ride to Jammu which is a shit hole, or a 12 hour bus ride to Leh which is even colder then Srinagar, a flight back to Delhi was only $70 so I decided to give it another go. The second time I got here, I was more prepared to handle the city, I checked into a guesthouse in south Delhi where I met a bunch of other travlers. After a night of drinking and brainstorming, four of us were going motorcycle shopping the next morning, and 48 hours after we'd met we had all bought motorcycles and planned a 2500km trip to Kochi, Kerala. So that's where thing currently stand, We get the motorcycles in 2 days and leave in 3. We've booked a house for 2 weeks in Kerala, which starts on November 8th, so we have approximately 2 weeks to get there, by spliting the costs 4 ways we are all only paying $135 for 2 weeks. The two week journey to Kochi is guarenteed to be an adventure, I'll do my best to take lots of pictures and not to kill myself. Ill put up some recent photos asap,
but for now my buddy Hans has my usb cable in Varanasi, so I have to wait for him to get back before I post any.

Advertisement



3rd November 2009

Hows Iraq?
Heyyyyyyy Mike!. its Barb and Sarah here from work back home. Just letting you know that were thinking about ya and hopefully things are going well. we will keep in touch through this site. Try not to die buddy, and hopefully Iraq is treating you well!.. haha just pulling your chain bud!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb