Everyone understand a shove


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Ladakh » Leh
July 17th 2008
Published: July 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have briefly left my desert home in Maharastra and head up North to the Himalayas. I am in a tibetian town called Leh and I feel like I am on a whole other planet not to mention no longer in India. Women are wearing long black dresses with wooly vests over them and monks are running a muck! well I dont know about a muck but they are everywhere. The entire town is surrounded by beautiful mountain and down here in the valley we are at 12,000 ft.
We began our journey by car from Meherabad to Mumbai at 7:00 am on the 15th. We got on a plane from Mumbai at 7:00 pm to arrive in New Delhi at 11:00 pm. We then sat around in the airport until 2:00am when we could go check our bags, sat around until 4:40 am, got on the plane, arrived in leh at 6:10 am. Even from the plan the mountains were stunning.
I always thought altitude sickness was no big deal until I really felt it for the first time. But with the combination of being up in the highest mountains I have ever seen and nearly two days without sleep it is a wonder I made it up and down from the bazaar twice. Last night I had the worst head ache of my life so I am here to report that the rumors are true:altitude sickness sucks.
How ever a little head ache could not ruin the beautiful guest houst we are staying at from less than $10 a night. It has an organic garden out front and a shower with running hot water heated by solar panel. Not having to take a bucket shower is a big deal here in India...if that is really where I am.
This morning, much recovered I spent most of the day in a buhdist temple. the paintings and carvings are intricatly done and there was even a beautiful sand painting. No one said anything about taking pictures but I kept it limited at least at first because I feel uncomfortable taking pictures while people are trying to worship. However there was this one litltle tibetian lady whose spot I was accidently in. When she came back she gave me a little shove to move over. I was not moving fast enough so harder shoving ensued. She was so adorable because when I got up to look around she insisted that I come back to sit next to her making Jane move over to make space. She got a big kick out of my camera and the pictures I took of the two of us. She even took a go at taking a picture herself. She tried to teach me to pray but my ladahki could use some brushing up because she didnt undertand anything I read out of my guide to conversational Ladhaki. How ever she was able to comunicate that she liked me by touching her heart and then my shoulder and warmly took my hand when I left.
I dont know how you all are going to get me home because this is the most incredible place I have ever seen. I wish I had not left most of my stuff in Meherabad or I would have just found some place to volunteer up here. Sorry for no pictures the sign above me says: Uploading of photos are NOT allowed. Too bad.

Advertisement



17th July 2008

Wow!
You're going all over the place! But you can't stay there! I miss you too much!
18th July 2008

Awww...^^
20th July 2008

holy crap you must be really high up those mountains
21st July 2008

I am glad you got to go to Leh. Although I have never really wanted to go to India, it is high on my list now!
31st July 2008

This place sounds amazing!! I hope that someday we can both go together! I miss you so much!!! But it sounds like you are having an amazing time. I'm really sorry to hear you aren't feeling too hot, though. Get well! Much love!
9th August 2008

can i get a shout out!
heeey kris, update me on the rest of your trip!!! your so behind! we got a little scare when we thought you had gone missing, hope everything has been unbeleivable, which i know it is... cause your in india
12th August 2008

Amazing!
Hey there, Kev was telling me all about your trip. Just wanted to wish you well. I am thrilled for you at all you are getting to experience. Stay safe and come share your stories with us when you get back.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb