Life at Tilokpur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh
March 28th 2007
Published: March 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm now really enjoying life at the nunnery and in the village. Even though we're aren't teaching full time yet more of the nuns are coming to us for tuition which is good...whilst simultaneously being terrifying as it has now hit me how hard teaching actually is!
I may have mentions before hope much I love the village, hopefully from the photos I have put up you'll see why. (The photos are a pretty random selection, some of which are on the wrong entry as I got confused, if I can find an easier way of putting photos up I'll put up more)
I do not however love the monkeys. These horrendous, wizened faced, ugly vermin will never again be seen by me as cute when they huddle together in the rain because I now know that is when they are plotting their evil deeds. The swines stole my towel, in broad daylight swanned up, unpegged it, then hanging round just long enough for my to see them jumped up on to the roof cackling in the full knowledge that I couldn't follow them. That is right, dear friends, they are evil!
We went an evening walk yesterday with two of the nicest nuns (one, Karma Gurmay Palmo, is an absolute angel, she's been the most friendly and helpful and we love her, I'm currently trying to work out the logistics of taking her home with me in my rucsack.) We were going past one villager's home when a cry halted us. She shouted across to us to come in for some chai (it turns out that this is what she had been saying to us before when we'd seen her in the street but as she is a quite terrifying, imposing looking women who speaks Hindi at a rate of knots despite us stammering out "we don't speak Hindi", we presumed she was a crazy woman and ran away!) She was utterly delight at us being in her house for tea. There was no pretence as to why, she blatently said to the nuns " I love their beautiful white skin" I love that honesty, in England we'd be far too embarrassed to admit that and would come out with something about wanting to learn about other cultures.
She has invited us round for dinner tonight which should be interesting as the nuns wont be there to translate and there is only so many times you can smile at someone who is stroking their face and saying "beautiful"! We're really excited, I'll let you know how it goes.
This morning we went with some nuns to hang new prayer flags on the hill, it was really interesting but I've run out of internet time so will have to tell you about that next time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb