Rob in Shimla


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Shimla
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all. A lot has happened since I last wrote on here. so this update will be huge.

I can't remember if Pushkar was in my last update, but I'll briefly say it was alright, the temples around the lake were quite cool, we could shop a bit there but it was nothing on Udaipur. Jaipur was nothing special, it's old pink city was not pink in the slightest. We got a good view from climbing some fort thing and we went into some fabrics place and I manaed to buy a couple of cushion covers to take home.

Delhi on the other hand was excellent, I loved it. When we arrived we'd spent the night before in Jaipu8r station before catching out train at 5am, so the first day there we got a few hours sleep in the afternoon and an early night, I think that may have been the day we watched the F.A. Cup final too, quite a disappoijnting experience! The next day we me up with Luke again, we briefly visited John in his room but he was very sick, something that has since proved to be very significant to the rest of us. We went around the Red Fort and looked around the Bazaar around New Delhi train station, although I didn't buy anything. The next day we had a day trip to Agra and saw the Taj Mahal. It's easily the most impressive building I've seen in my life, all made from clean marble. It looks like it's 2D and made of cardboard until you get right up close, it's really difficult to imagine it from any pictures although we took plenty of photos. wWe had to get up at 5am to do that and we didn't get back until 11pm, so needles to say we slept in quite late the next day. Then we met Luke and John again and really pottered about mroe than anything else, apart from in the afternoon when we went to Mosque and got to climb a tower which gave us a great view of Delhi. In the evening we were all going to go out as it was Nicole and Eileen's last night. Luke joined us, John had started throwing up violently so he passed. We found a nice place to eat but we really couldn't find any suitable bars or clubs, sp we spent our last night together chatting in a hotel room. We kept going all night and only got about 1 hours sleep.

And from there on in it all went wrong, in what was easily the worst day od India so far for most of us. Saying goodbye to Nicole and Eileen was awful, they couldn't stop crying and we all found it pretty hard. I fekt much worse for Eileen as Nicole's going to Thailand and will have fun there where as Eileen is going home and feels like she's missing out more. Then we got our 6am train to discover it wasn't sleeper class, after we'd only had 1 hours sleep the night before. By now COlin had caught John's illness or something unrelated and had been sick a few times, it actually started the night before. At this stage I was just never hungry for some odd reason. Then we changed trains to get what looked like a toy train through the mountains. It was delayed by 1 and a half hours efore it left and then stopped for 4 hours somewhere after starting. That meant from originally exppecting to get there between 6 and 7 we were going to get there about 11, and finding accomodation would be harder.

Whilst we were stopped in the sun Katherine and I started feeling worse and worse, and once we started moving again I was the first to be sick out of the window. It then would continue to build up whenever I closed my eyes of didn't look out of the window, which was always a real effort with the amount of sleep I'd had. At the next stope Katherine had to run off and be sick. I saw Jenny go and start comforting her, before I too had to do the same, and me + Jenny we able to start laughing about it a bit. It continued for the entire journey. We were actually able to lie down in a dirty luggage compartment, and we all got very cold as we ascended. I was sick 9 or 10 times throughout the whole experience. Me + Colin also had to deal with Delhi Belly too. Jenny was superb at looking after the 3 of us which helped, and thankfully when we arrived at the station there was a hotel owner waiting to pick up tourists. It's peak season aorund here, so we were thankful to find something and we were willing to pay a bit more considering the circumstances, although that turned out not to be necessary. The last struggle was the revelationg that many of the roads had been blocked off and we had to walk around then hills with our ricksacks on which wasn't easy. Then we slept well. We're due to meet Luke and JOhn in Manali, but we're going to recover here first. We've spent lots of time sleeping today. KAtherine + I feel considerably better, Colin on the other hand hasn't improved much. We'll wait around here until we're ready to move on, we're comfortable enough. The scenery is spectacular and from what I've seen Shimla is a lovely place, so once we're all well we'll have a great time here.

Don't worry about me, I feel a world better already. Keep well.

Rob.

Advertisement



24th May 2007

Oh dear.........
Well, I'm so glad you're feeling better. I hope you are all soon strong enough to see round Shimla before your long train ride back. We're away from Saturday to Thursday, so if you need to phone you'll have to use our mobiles. Hope you've still got some immodium..
24th May 2007

Yuck!
I hope there wasn't anyone looking out of the window next to you, they would've got covered! xx
26th May 2007

Rob, you're hardcore
Looks like the Rock 'n' Roll lifestyle finally took it's toll Rob... That doesn't mean you should stop though! I'm dead proud that you've been making the most of every minute out there.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb