Rest day in Keylong


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Keylong
August 12th 2010
Published: October 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today we were supposed to press on to Sarchu passing over the Baralacha La pass at 4830m. There we were to spend the night in tents before turning around and heading back to Manali the way we'd come as the way from there to Leh was impassable.

Unfortunately the news of the way ahead was that it would be very wet, rivers would be high and probably bridges washed out. We'd then arrive wet and cold at the tents with no way to dry out or get warm (no power).
The decision was that we'd have an unplanned rest day at Keylong, instead. A small group would take a ride up to the next town in the direction of Sarchu, about 11km, where the tour leaders would visit a child they sponsored there and have lunch.

As it turned out, several of the riders who went with them decided to press on and attempt the Baralacha pass. They made it successfully despite having several hairy river crossings and unfortunately I wasn't one of them as I'd decided that a visit to the next town wasn't worth it. :o(

My day in Keylong was pleasant enough as we got to see something of the life in an isolated Himalayan village but getting to the top of that pass would definitely have capped that. That's what I was on the trip for, after all.

The people in Keylong were as friendly as usual as we'd come to expect of this part of India. Some of our group made the climb up to the monastery that was above the village but given that I was struggling to get up 3 flights of stairs at the hotel, I didn't fancy my chances of making it to the top of several kilometres of steps.

I made the mistake of being nice to a local dog. It winced when I first moved my hand towards it - I suppose it was more used to blows than pats. After I gave it a couple of pats it decided that I was its friend and followed me for the next 20 minutes. Tried to follow me into the local museum where some ladies chased it off but I was nervous that it would be waiting for me when I came out. Luckily although I saw several dogs of the same breed, I think my friend had transferred his loyalties.

A restful although somewhat disappointing day. At least the food at the hotel was the best I'd had, so far so there was that one compensation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb