Mcleod Ganj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Kangra Valley
October 31st 2006
Published: October 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

At schoolAt schoolAt school

some of the boys in my class
Hello again faithful readership...

Well teaching has started. Morning are a bit insane, as Laura and I have 21 5-10yr olds. We've started them on verbs, so had a lesson of 'sit' 'stand' 'run' 'jump' 'sleep'...which was predictably chaos. Afternoons are great - Lea and I have a class of 7 8-15yr olds, who come after school voluntarily, so they're really into learning, which is nice. We've been teaching them how to tell the time. Had never occured to me that knowing that quarter to twelve and 11.45 are the sam was so hard...

Did Mcleod Ganj this weekend - amazing place, I might head back there to do a bit of teaching at some point in the next few months. We missed the Dalai Lama by half an hour 😞 Spent much of the weekend explaining the Tibetan situation to others (have no time now... go wiki it :P). I brought a book on the Jakata tales (birth tales of the Buddha) so that I can actually recognise which ones various murals are of. The shopping is ridiculous there... I agonised over spending 35pounds, only to discover someone else managed to spend 200... I'll start taking orders for pure cashmere pashminas now girls 😊 (can get one for 10pounds, which is ridiculously cheap compared to the UK)

Mcleod was predicatably full of hippys and Israelis, and less predictably several goths... I've shunned black in favour of surviving in the Indian sun (you'll all be pleased to hear that the vast majority of what I've brought is purple though...)

To get to Mcleod we got a bus to Dharamsala then a jeep up the mountain to Mcleod. On the way back down we found the coolest jeep ever.... We got 14people in, the windscreen was covered in cut out pics of Jesus and Mary etc sellotaped on, and in the back with Laura and I were a Tibetan nun, monk, and a Hindu Sadhu (holy man...check pic... not the same sadhu, but you get the idea).

We're going trekking this weekend, then hopefully to Manali the weekend after, and Amritsar after that. Will probably return to Mcleod as well at some point before leaving Himachal.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



31st October 2006

Wha? There's a place in India called McLeod?? :D I never knew we'd conquered that bit.. :p

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb