Mountains......


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Dharamsala
June 4th 2009
Published: June 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hmmm travel blog travel blog what to write!

Well, so. I left Delhi! Earlier than planed I know, but then again if I had planned a bit better I wouldn't rock up there in the hottest season. It was too much for me to bare. To hot to do much. Couldn't really explore because it was far to uncomfortable to be outside. So it meant I was working in the air conditioned rooms or sitting under a fan somewhere else. Any outside activities where greatly avoided. So, some what depressive really.
Amelie and I decided to finish all our on going projects with the organisation and bust a groove up to the mountains. Ahhh the mountains. Where bliss always resides in my soul...........
Well something like that anyways. I think when I am in the mountains, I find it easier to exist in the now. Not in my thoughts, in my ego, in the past or future. Just feeling the things around me and enjoy the beauty of nature.

First we (Amelie and I) got a bus to Kullu. We were heading somewhere else but randomly decided to get off the bus there and chill for a while. It was ok, a nice eating place where I ate spinach every day, mmm wow so good and a sweet old man. But we didn't really get up to much we wandered around a little. Watched cheesey movies on T.V in bed. Which was wonderful. Just to relax in a comfy place WITH blankets! Wow, so good to be cold again! Every day it rained a little and amazing loud thunder storms. It is truly refreshing after the intense heat of Delhi.
From Kullu we stuck our thumbs out and hitched a ride to Manali.
So, to anyone who think hitching is a bad idea.....
Which would you choose, an over crowded bumpy bus, with some crazy arse driver almost killing you on every corner and about 30 people staring and laughing at you.
Or, a comfy tourist jeep, with room in the back for our bags, playing calming mantras and a safe driver........hmmmm! I wonder! hahahha
It was a really really nice hitch and it arrived just 2 minutes after sticking out our thumbs.
It was such a nice ride, after about 15 minutes blah blah blah babbling with Amelie, we looked out of the windows and saw the snow capped mountains. Smiles burst on to our faces and we were silent for....about 30 seconds, until we started to bla blah again!
We got all the way to Manali with mantra jeep guy and decided to stay there.........

Manali, what to say about Manali.
The hotel room I stayed in had a huge window and a balcony. From my bed I could see the beautiful view of the snowy mountains. I would wake up, open my eyes and just smile and feel like the luckiest person alive. At night there were always thunder storms, balls of light flashing in the sky, but not always rain. I fell to sleep watching this and feeling amazed at how magical the earth is.

Then Amelie and I decided, ok, we are going to Turkey together (by the way, we are going to turkey together, on the 11th of June, the plan is to cycle around and well just see what happens) so yeah, we though we are going to Turkey together, we will prob be spending a lot of time together, so its time for some space before hand. The last thing I want is to get so in need for space I get pissed off and loose a friend.
We planned to hitch hike through the mountains to this nice sounding place which i forgot the name of. And then we would split off from each other and meet back on my birthday. We hitched to the last village before the mountain pass......then realised we were too late and people were going across the pass at this time of day.
So, in essence, we failed and we went back to Manali, a little bit disappointed.

From Manali, I went to Dharamsala.....on a wet bus with bad energy. Everyone was shouting and being all stress. I wish that I was really well practised in non violent communication, because it would of been really lovely to defuse everyone!
The bus stopped after two hours and on walked my friend! Who I thought I wouldn't see in Dharamsala. It was really nice to see him.
We rocked up in Mc leod Ganj (just above dharamsala) at 5 in the morning.
This was a really good experience, the whole town is asleep, apart from the dogs, who rule the place! They run around every where so full of energy. At one point i was walking with about 8 dogs jogging by my side. I sat down for a little rest and a dog sat beside me. We hugged and I stroked it. If I decided to stop stoking her she would put her paw under my hand and lift it up, as if to say, stroke me stroke me come on! It worked.
Ah the sweetest doggies here love love love them.

So traveling in India, its sometimes a bit frustrating when it comes to veganism. Ok not frustrating, that's just an overstatement. But I often find myself day dreaming about soya milk coffees, good tofu meals, chocolate cake........etc etc. Things which at home are easily made and readily available.
I get here and my friend tells me, Kay, there is a cafe which does soya milk. Wow weeee. So this morning, i wake up, make a fruit salad then stroll on to the cafe. I order a soya latte with Cinnamon. YUM! so happy. And they have loads of yummy Japanese food and the best spinach dumplings ever!!
and chocolate ball things......oh wow wee.....
It's nice to see so many Tibetan people because i think they are beautiful.
but sad they are refugees.

i went on a walk today, it was covered with Tibetan flags and old people walking up the steep hill, muttering prays and rubbing there pray beads. It felt so nice. These old people, walking, smiling looking healthy. Makes me think, we got the wrong idea in the west.

ok people are chatting to me on the net and its hard to write and chat so
Cya!!!xxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb