UQ Graduate Date Plantation


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat
December 28th 2006
Published: January 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tess driving in India!!Tess driving in India!!Tess driving in India!!

Hey look at me I'm driving for the first time in India. Don't worry all I tackled on my very short journey of country side was herdsmen and their sheep or goats and a cow or two. The traffic amazingly was almost nil. I think they must have been alerted I was going to be driving that morning.
I again indulged in horticulture today. I was able to visit a UQ graduate of Gatton Queensland who owns a date plantation in this region of Bhuj. I toured his plantation and saw people at work like I have never seen before. Unlike Australia the work is very laborious. Men and women and their children toil on the farm like an organised society, of which I truly believe Rahaul (the owner) has created. I was so impressed to learn that all the workers and managers live on the plantation. All medical is taken care of, and a teacher (a managers wife) lives on the plantation and takes daily school classes for the children. Rahaul also has worker incentive with bonuses given to each worker who accumulates 300 work free days out of 365 days. Their daily wage is 60 rupees and the bonus is 10 rupees for each day. So that works out to 3000 rupees bonus. By devising such a management plan of his workers he has been able to retain skilled workers for the whole time the plan has been running, compared to before when workers would leave after three months or less. Along with his dates he produces
Tent CityTent CityTent City

Young date plantation. These trees will yield about 30kg each within four years and about 250kg each/yr at about 8 years. I am so investing in dates.
grapes and figs. I was in fruit heaven. It was so nice to eat fresh fruit pesticide free straight off the trees.

I stopped at Bhujodi a township famous for mirrowork embroidery and purchased three gorgeous shawls.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Men at WorkMen at Work
Men at Work

Composting at the root boundary.
Women at WorkWomen at Work
Women at Work

Off to shovel compost into the trailer.
Fresh FigsFresh Figs
Fresh Figs

Indulging in fresh figs and other fruits picked straight from the trees on the date plantation.


3rd January 2007

checkin in
hey tess, it's been great reading your site, I had ten days off over the break, hey guess what i love indian tea too, its the bomb hey! good for sick tummies too! I've had my share of dehli belly baby! I won the dress up award first prize @ gym, boot camp! how cool is that! we're starting an organic co-op in Ippy too, so exciting, already got a few households interested! luv cc
5th January 2007

Hey Cav. I am so needing to come home though. Can't wait to make tea Indian style for you. Lots of love Tessy x0x0x Hope the gym is missing me. x0x0

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb