Explosive New Years in Rajkot-NOT!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Gujarat » Rajkot
January 1st 2007
Published: January 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fruit StallsFruit StallsFruit Stalls

I surrendered to the family desparately wanting to feed me and opted for an orange. They were happy they could put food into my mouth.
Yesterday was a very different New Years for me. As we travelled along the Indian road via Rajkot to Gir Forest to see Asiatic Lions I was overcome with illness, like I have not experienced before while traveling here in India. I have struggled at the most to digest all the cooked food and have become at times lethargic and heavy. All the travel books speak of racing to the loo being explosive at both ends, well my struggles have been just trying stay regular as my daily diet in Australia is of raw foods. But yesterday, my body was truly not my own. Every bump in the road aggravated me. I was not able to hold a conversation with anyone and just felt like retreating to another world. When we stopped along the road for a toilet stop as all Indians do as it seems, I then began to vomit continuously. We made our way to Rajkot and I could go no further. I took up a bed and just wanted to die. My body ached, my tummy bloated and kramping. A doctor came and tapped on my tummy which sounded like a deep drum. He wanted to inject me and put me on some form of drip for fluids. I thought a nightmare was about to begin. I was sick but not that sick, that I was going to succombe to Indian practice. I shouted and yelled no, and he left me alone. But he did insist on me taking some ayervedic medicines.

I slept my new years away in Rajkot, while krackers and fireworks went off in the streets, I lay in bed like death warmed up. A New Years to remember always...

As it turned out other members of the family started dropping like flies with such illness, so the doctor did stick around and was able to jab them.

Today we ceased our journey and made our way back to Ghandinagar, to rest and recouparate. I am so glad to be back in the family home, with a cup of tea and dry toast and honey....I had to have the servent go out and buy honey specifically. They found this type of eating habit very obscure. But for me,an OZZIE girl this is good comfort food for the road back to recovery. I will also add, toast is not toast like we know it. It also has certain amount of spices in it too.

Cheers and HAPPY NEW YEAR
x0x0x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb