Travelogue to Goa


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa
April 8th 2014
Published: March 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

On the 8th of April 2014 me an my dad went on a trip with an oil leaking motor cycle, our destination; Goa. One of the most beautiful beach regions in the world located on the west coast of India. A popular vacation place, from its many beach resorts to its little villages filled with culture.



Picture 1




Unsurprisingly, one and a half hours on the road the bike started making a strange. Luckily we were still on the highway, so we were able to stop at a restaurant. The restaurant was small and seemed shabby, I ordered a coke( for I didn't dare trust the food from the kitchen) and my dad called his friend Mario. He was the guy who originally sold my father the bike and who had promised to repair it whenever it broke down, which might not have been the smartest promise of his life. So we waited in the small dusty restaurant under the burning mid-day sun.
Three cokes and a sprite later Mario and some of his co workers arrived and inspected and repaired the bike. there was apparently something wrong with the battery,
which they apparently missed two days ago in their pre-trip checkup.



Photo2




That evening, we the bike was long fixed, we arrived at the beach after crossing a beautiful mountain-range we still hadn't reached the district of goa, but from now on it'd just be soaring along the coast line.
Our hotel was in a dune like area filled with cactuses, lizards and dry bushes. The hotel ground itself was greener with several palm trees. After doing a few laps in the swimming pool, which was surrounded by peculiar plants that looked similar to aliens, I went down to the beach, just in time to see a beautiful sunset.



Picture 3





The next day was by far the longest day of the trip. we traveled along the coast line, we'd left early in the morning but soon the mid-day sun burned on my black leather jacket. When the bike's brakes decided to bail on us we stopped in a local village to get the bike repaired. While waiting for the bike my dad ordered food in a local restaurant while I survived on cookies and chips.



Picture4



That evening we arrived I aranbol, northern Goa. It was an extremely popular hippie spot in the sixties, but now it's just a small town at the beach with a Brazilian Russian tourists. After freshening up me and my dad went to this restaurant on the beach where I ordered a hamburger. The restaurant had a nice sphere, one guy was singing hits from the sixties on a small stage and it was decorated with tiny christmas lights. My hamburger was not so good, the bread was soggy and the burger tasted dry, so I continued eating from my dad's kingfish which tasted like heaven in suppose to the burger. Later I attempted to light a hot air lantern, which flew up for about a meter until it fell in the sea.





Picture 5




The next day was more pleasant, at first I went shopping in the million tiny shops, it was early in the morning so the weather wasn't too warm and around twelve I went to the sea. The salty water irritated my blistered feet. but still, it had been around half a year since I had last sw am in the ocean and it felt great. the waves storming up the beach and the slowly retreating, the sand creeping between my toes and the sun softly burning on my skin.




Picture 6




After drying of the water in the sun, we went on with our trip. We crossed beautifull landscapes as we drove south. We passed this little old Indian temple with an union roof, all completely covered in plants. We had to take a ferry twice and drive for about 3 hrs (the shortest distance yet) until we arrived at our hotel in south Goa.
It was quite a fancy hotel, so the faces of the hotel guests were pretty shocked when we drove in on the bike. We explored the area and I swam in the ocean a second time, then we ordered room service and I fell sound asleep


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement





Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb