Goa, the tropical oasis


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa
January 31st 2012
Published: January 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

We have finally reached the south haven of India, best know as Goa. After an enduring journey of the North and a 36 hour train ride from Varanasi to Mumbai (literally accross the country), we open our mouths to the salt and seafood on offer. On arrival at Madgoan airport we are bombarded by cabby's all quite capable of adjusting their prices to better their rivals. This ultimately worked in our favour as we managed to get to where we needed to go alot cheaper.

Heading south and into the quiet bays of Palolem and Patnem Beach, which is where we currently reside, we found a small place by the name of Tantra Huts and Cafe. Currently we are living in what appears to be a hut, home made, built from bamboo, rope, and thatch. This simple yet cozy living has really provided that extra cultural touch to the trip.

From here, our days consist of yoga by the mornings, walks to other beaches over variously headlands, riding our scooters, shopping, sun tanning, and most importantly drinking some sneaky cocktails by sunset.

Which brings me to my next point- It is incredible to see the sunset over the ocean as I believe this is the first time I ever have! And more bizarre is that the moon disappears out of sight after 3 hours of nighfall.

My highlights so far: I have officially had my first scooter accident. Although still alive I don't think I will forget it too soon. It consisted of somewhere between Dane telling me I could do it, the gravel isnt very loose and the hill isn't too steep. Well it ended with me under the scooter on a rock with, two bleeding toes and some scratches and bruises. Note to self: wear a shirt and shoes next time.

We have also been lucky enough to be taken care of by the local young guys that work at Tantra. We were directed to Kholva Beach two days ago. This place really is the tropical oasis of Goa. It has a fresh water lagoon that stretches for miles and falls from a spring up in the mountains and facing its opposite sits the salt water beach. Lined with coconut trees, and cocohuts this place was untouched and really spoke true beauty within India.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb