Bad day (good friends!)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Palolem
December 25th 2010
Published: December 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

PaulPaulPaul

He's from Australia but he had lived in India longer.
I had a bad day and so I called for help from my best friends here in India.

I think it’s interesting to exchange opinions, reflexions and thoughts with people
from different countries, languages and experiences.

I wrote about that day. Siddharth (a young Indian guy, very nice and very clever.
He is interested in discovering the world and learning from each moment of life)
and Paul (an Australian guy, young is not the word but I can say very active, who
has been living in India since March 2010, and who has travelled a lot around
India during his life) gave me some feedback. I think both know me quite well.
So, here is what I wrote and their comments:

"Today it was a bad day. I woke up very happy, optimistic with a lot of energy (like
every morning!). But it all started to change when I started work. It was one of
those days when I thought “what am I doing in India exactly?”

There was a meeting with the staff. We discussed how to evaluate the progress
of the children. I started to get nervous because I don't understand how it is
possible
SiddharthSiddharthSiddharth

With me and one german friend.
to evaluate these children if they are always rote learning? What are
we evaluating exactly? I started to think about what I wanted to do here. The
Foundation (and me too) thought that it would be good if I could show these
teachers other ways of teaching and, slowly, they could introduce this different
methodology in their practice.
Of course I don't want this rote learning and I tried to show them how to think
about what they need to learn, and how to find a relationship between what they
know and what they have to learn. In other words, keep the brain active and
alive! It was horrible when I heard many children repeating like robots!"

Paul wrote:
The point is that we all know that kids love to learn (properly) in terms of having
their minds engaged and stimulated - learning to think about things and to be
creative inside. So if you show them just a glimpse of true learning they will want
more and more. But you can at the same time do this along side the hard fact
that the system requires them to memorise.

They can do both (because brains are amazing) - and they can appreciate under
your tutelage that they have to do one (the system requires it) in order for them
to then have the opportunity for you to show them more and more about creative
learning (which they will love).

"But maybe I'm wrong.Why should I try to introduce new ways to teach? Do they
need it? Why? Do they want it? Maybe they think I'm crazy (and maybe I am). I
understand what I want to do with my European mentality but, what do they think
about this young white girl who wants to stop rote learning?”

Paul wrote:
It’s that very classic dilemma about quick change and incremental change. The
problem is that if you try quick change it won't work because they will simply
reject you and then there will be no change. So how to bring about small change
and change that the teachers feel they are making themselves (and not the
foreign white girl imposing it).

Siddharth wrote:
Can you do something with the teachers? Yes, if you are able to communicate beyond
language. But you must be careful not to take on the role of reformer in all ways. Do
not think less of your western perspective, because it is not western in many ways,
simply progressive, which is what matters. It is a tough task, but you can try to show the
teachers some effective strategies. even so, they are not always very competent. and
they have other pressures that you might not yet clearly understand.

Village life is complicated, like any other form of society, and in a couple of months you
have only seen some part of it. those people live there, and they have their own way of
dealing with things. Some of it is very wise, you can also learn from this. Other parts are
painful, but that is their current reality, and if you understand the basic cause you will
find much of the time you cannot change it so easily. but there are some ways in which
you can be a catalyst of change. You must find these, to fulfil your responsibility. beyond
these, make the most of your time, take long walks, spend time observing daily rituals,
seeing what the people in that society do in an elaborate way. it is a rare opportunity,
make the most of it. and most of all, enjoy it!

"Some days ago I talked about this with a boy. He's 15, very clever and speaks
English very well. He told me “I understand you and what you mean but I have to
memorise all of this, otherwise my teacher will hit me!” Oh God! What can I say?"

Siddharth wrote:
It is so remarkable, such a complicated world and structure of systems that we
operate within. Even so, it is possible to share a deep connection, in a personal
sense, and perhaps you experience this, such as with the 15 year old boy. It
is tragic that teachers should still resort to terrible practices like beating, but
the reality of rural education in India is one of little infrastructure and fewer
resources, including well qualified humans. It is our failing, and the seeming
nature of society, that we accord much more importance and glory to working
with big projects and money than with our own children.

"When I arrived here I was very excited, with many ideas. One week later I
thought “Carol, be quiet.... maybe you can help these teachers but don't get too
excited” and now I'm thinking “maybe children can have fun with me for a while
and that's it.... no expectations..."

Siddharth wrote:
You are here for six months - a relatively short time in the long run for these
children. Share with them what you have, touch their lives in as deep a way as
possible, but be under no illusion that you will create a dramatic or lasting change
in all their lives for a long time to come.
It's good to stay free of expectations, but also not become cynical. Keep yourself
open to the wonderful possibilities of life and the miracle that is every day. And
trust in yourself and in others. Even if you sometimes get hurt, that hurt makes
your pleasure real.

THANK YOU MY FRIENDS!!!

Advertisement



4th April 2011

bad day - good analysis
Good to have this processing no? And nice to share your thoughts about all this and the advice you got (even if one of the advisers was moi!!!!) Paul

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb