Greetings from Goa!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Palolem
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Taj Mahal Taj Mahal Taj Mahal

Liam and me at the Taj
12 Dec - just a quick wee blog to let you know what's been happening. As you'll have seen from my brief blog from Calcutta, our tiger tour was cut short and we never made it to Mumbai. And then my Mumbai to Goa trip was cancelled. After an unexpected week in Calcutta with Liam, a guy I met on the tiger trip, I flew to Goa last Friday. I have been staying in Benaulim, a sleepy wee village in South Goa. Nice hotel, surrounded by palm groves but it was a 10 min walk to the beach and not much nightlife / too many old couples and families so decided to move on today.

I've continued south and am now in Palolem. This is more my kinda place. Arrived at lunchtime, checked in to the Palolem Beach Resort (I'd be lost without my...I mean Liam's Lonely Planet!). Had a great lunch (healthy salad and lime bacardi breezer!) overlooking the beach. Staying in a great wee shack just 1 min from beach. Basic but hey, it's spacious, my own space and bathroom for GBP12 per night, no hostelling as yet for me! Watched the sunset on the beach, the full
Tiger, TigerTiger, TigerTiger, Tiger

At Kanha National Park
moon rise then explored the shops and checked out lots of great restaurants and bars before catching up on the emails.

I've only been here a few hours but really love the place. Due to budget restraints and distances involved I may not bother heading further south to Kerala and just stay here for the next two weeks then fly back to Delhi on 27 Dec to start my Delhi to Kathmandu trip with Bhupindra, the same tour guide we had for tiger trip. I'll stay here until Monday then decide what I'm doing...it's great being my own boss 😊

Anyhoo, I may give the blogging a rest for a few days as I've been at it loads over the last week to get Africa completed. As a taster for the India blogs I've attached a few photos... 😊

Hope you're all enjoying your Christmas parties.
Bi 4 now,
Shons


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Gaylords - a great restaurant in CalcuttaGaylords - a great restaurant in Calcutta
Gaylords - a great restaurant in Calcutta

Liam insisted on this shot...nothing to do with me


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb