Rob still in Palolem


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Palolem
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all

I've spent a few days here now, and it's all very relaxing. It's by far the most picturesque beach I've been to so far, with palm trees all along, and all the restraunts, bars and beach shacks don't ruin it by any stretch of the imagination, in fact I find it gives it a travellers atmosphere. As in Varkala we've met some new travellers, and 2 of them, Luke and John (easy to remember for me) happen to be booked on the same train to Mumbai as us. We've also met up with Ed from the TEFL week and a couple of his friends, so it's a healthy sized group.

As yet I haven't taken any photos here, partly because of my memory, but also because any photos will look similar to my photos from other beach resorts. Still, I'll take a couple, I'm planning to take one of a hilarious sign by the beach. It says at the top "Do not swim under the influence of alchohol. Your loved ones are waiting for you at home" which is a hilarious way of trying to reinforce the message. It then later says under rules:

"No spitting
No smoking
No dropping litter
No child abuse"

As if it's a normal activity in many places but is forbidden at Palolem beach. The signs about sexual harrassment on the trains also have a bit of humour, but not quite like this sign.

Anyway, the life here consists of getting up slowly, sitting on the beach in the morning, maybe shopping, sitting in cafes or reading my book and generally relaxing. Then we make dinner an ongoing event and get back normally after 1am, and thankfully I'm here with some of the better behaved people I've met, although that doesn't stop us being offered al sorts. The food here is slightly more expensive, but nothing I can't afford, I saved far more than I needed, I could get by with 700 quid or so less out here.

Anyway, we'll head to North Goa soon. In Anjuna there's a famous flea market, it might be a place to start my present shopping. The problem is, any presents I buy I have to carry around with me, but as next stop is Mumbai I should be able to ship them home from there so Ajuna sounds ideal. I'll also do a lot in Delhi, apparently anything you can buy in India you can buy in Delhi, so I may get someone some form of Tamil gift from about 1500 miles away from Tamil Nadu. Also in North Goa we'll go to Baga, which is where Goa's clubs are, it's far more developed. Then our train to Mumbai is one the 10th May.

I still don't know what happens to me after May 23rd when we'll have had enough time in Delhi. Nicole's having a few problems with flights home and her visa (her visa expires a day or so early), whilst Katherine is having an absolute nightmare which I won't go into. It's partly GAPs fault for telling us in our welcome pack that our visa would expire on 16th June when in fact they got people ones that expired on the 11th. A pretty shocking error to make when you think about it, everyone would have had their flights booked by the time they got their visas through. In fact GAP are generally rubbish, but unfortunately if you have no contacts for something like this you need a middle man, but the whole issue of registering (I forgot to mention, I must go back to Tiru a week before I fly home) was their mistake, and Nicole and Eileen ended up paying a 2000 rupees fine to their local police after the rep out here made a mess of their registering. On the issue of money to Maria, I'll give you all the details when I return home, I may try and raise some. Anyway, I'll have to wait and see what happens, but Thailand could be on the cards again as people need visas to be extended once more now that the flight home on 11th June is full.

I hope you're all well.

Rob.

Advertisement



5th May 2007

We all love the photos. You look great. I think you're a bit like Prince William.....
5th May 2007

full flight?
Does that mean that you're coming home later now? I thought you were booked on it! Anyway, it all sounds like you're still having fun. I'm with Jo and Chloe at the moment - we got manicures and pedicures today! xx

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb