India in a nutshell


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Baga
December 30th 2004
Published: December 30th 2004
Edit Blog Post

30/12/2004 DAY 1 Goa


Today is the first day of our travel across the Indian subcontinent and what a place to start! The beautiful and sunny Goa. I must admit that my spirits were a bit down after the tsunami disaster which has killed so many people. But the people of Goa have taken it well in the sense, they still manage to move on with their lives as though things are ok. I guess there is too much at stake for these people who would probably earn 90%!o(MISSING)f their annual income in these 10 days.

Getting back to Goa travel:

I took a train from Vasai Road Station, which is in a godforsaken part of Maharashtra and not to be mistaken as a stone throw from Mumbai. Actually Panwel is a better option as I and some friends of mine realized. This train is pretty good and you wake up in Goa.

If you are a single traveller, please try the motorcycle taxi, it is half the price of a car and takes half the time as well. The cool fresh air of Goa will set your mood for the holiday.

I was recommended to stay in the North (Baga), this is where the crowds converge for the new years celebration. Finding an accomodiation was not easy, but riding 55 kms on a bike with a stranger builds some bonds and I was driven around the town of Calanguta by my knightrider 😊

I first landed at some Fatima lodge which is horrible and the manager is rude. Finally I found a place in Angeline Resort. The room is nice and they have hot and cold water as promised.

My mobike taxi friend also took me to a motorcycle rental. I rented a bike for two days and now We had wings😊

My friend Thomas joined me at Angelina. It is his first trip to India and he needed a shower and sleep. We had a quick lunch and then crashed.

This place is buzzing with life after 7PM. There was a 5 day world record marathon of dance music in Zanzibar on Baga beach. We caught up with the last five minutes of the historic occassion. We scouted the place for a good eat and finally ended up eating some mediocre food in a posh restaurant. Thomas is stuck on a veg korma and pulao diet. I am getting hooked on the fish curry and rice.

Now we will head to Club Cubana for a fitting finish to a long day. Today's brush with history and culture of Goa was the curry and the marathon DJ. Hopefully we will take our bike on a trip to the hill top to see the sunrise.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb