Leaving India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Arambol
November 25th 2010
Published: November 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a hectic 2 weeks it was time for a break so we got our first internal flight to go south to Goa (landing in a monsoon is not great for an apprehensive flyer). I was really looking forward to spending 5 days relaxing by the beach and partying at night in Baga, as described in the Lonely Planet. However, the place should instead be called Saga and whoever wrote the guidebook obviously hasn’t been there for a while. 80% of people are 55+, which is fine, but not really what I was looking for. I’d describe Baga as a slightly warmer Faliraki or Magaluf with a much older crowd and no indication that you’re even in India.

Not being able to stand it for more than a couple of days we explored northern Goa and ended up in Mandrem. It’s the proper paradise I was expecting – white beach, warm sea and our very own beach hut. Although I did have to give up on the hope of any nightlife, unless you count the lizard that resided in our shack.

An 18-hour overnight bus journey took us onwards to Mumbai, for our last stop before leaving India. It may be because it rained on and off for the couple of days we were there, but my honest opinion of the best time I had in Mumbai was when I was in the cinema watching Harry Potter – and the film wasn’t even that great! It is certainly a vibrant city with high rises, city workers and posh restaurants, and watching the sun go down on Marine Drive was nice, but the city just didn’t wow me as I’d expected - I hope I’m not getting tired of travelling already ☺

After many curries, cold washes from buckets and crazy tuk-tuk rides I’m in the airport catching a flight to Singapore for a night stopover, before going to Vietnam for big cities, coastal drives and beautiful scenery. Apparently fb is banned though, so you may have to wait for the pics…


Advertisement



27th November 2010

wohoo
goa rockss....especially new year eve ,mind blowing parties.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb