Assam


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Assam
April 12th 2007
Published: April 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Daul Govinda TempleDaul Govinda TempleDaul Govinda Temple

beautifl outdoor temple in North Guwhati - the drive is beautiful
Went to Bharigow yesterday, where my Dad grew up. It's about four hours drive from the capital Guwahati and although the drive is scenic, passing through villages and endless countryside, it isn't very comfortable for the back! The roads are generally quite poor but it is reassuring to see some road constructors busy at work - long time overdue, some of the pot holes are large enough to farm fish!

Visited the house my Dad, now a successful GP, started his first years - and maaan has he come a long way! The difference between my upbringing in Liverpool and the life of my grandparents, even my father is astonishing. We have neat boxlike gardens, bog standard B&Q purchased flowers growing beside neat, artificial looking grass whereas my Dad's garden, or back yard if you may call it is nothing short of a rainforest, where banana, coconut, papaya, mango and bamaboo trees (to name a few) wildly grow and flourish.

The village is clean and the people are so warm, opening their homes sincerely. These people have comparatively little materially but are so full of warmth and genoristy. For lunch we had three types of fish, chicken and
Daul Govinda TempleDaul Govinda TempleDaul Govinda Temple

One of the random goats - their pestering is quite cute
daal and it was delicious. We met some of my Dad's friends, aunts/uncles and cousins (all well over 80) and they were overjoyed at seeing him after so long - had to tear him away!

As we drove back to the City I gazed out at the countryside: grassy plains and wetlands, paddy fields and endless fauna of various kinds and imagined my life had my Dad not have moved out. I even contemplated moving here - it would be so peaceful and chilled, but then I know I'd get bored - how ridiculous, I'd be a fish out of water - I laughed inwardly at myself as I listened to 'Flaunt It' ad 'E for Elektro' on my ipod.

14 April
HAPPY BIHU - It's Assamese New Year today, and the whole of the state is closed for bihu celebrations - you can hear bihu music everywhere. will post some pics soon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

GuwahatiGuwahati
Guwahati

In Cafe Coffee Day - India's answer to Starbucks - met up with Loons and his sis and fam
BIHUBIHU
BIHU

Amazing Bihu dancing - makes me proud to be Assamese
GuwahatiGuwahati
Guwahati

My adoreable little cousin sisters


16th April 2007

A Very Happy Bihu to you too! There must be such a wonderful atmosphere in Assam right now! And your dad's "bari" looks beautiful.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb