A Journey Through the Soaring Mountains


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Arunachal Pradesh
March 21st 2014
Published: May 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The journey we took from Digaru (in Assam) to the night's halt in Tenga, was by road. The tea gardens of Assam are calming to watch as they roll by, but during this stretch I was asleep. When I woke, the car had passed the Bhalukpong checkpoint.
Bhalukpong itself is the entry point into Arunachal Pradesh. My family and I cruised in the river (a service provided by the Eco Park). The cruising was pleasant with very minor rapids at this time of the year, but is a paradise for bird watchers. Bhalukpong is mostly plains with a background of the foothills. I ate lunch and continued on my way.
The road after that starts undulating and is accentuated with hairpin bends and rises and drops so unexpected you can feel the negative g in your stomach. The air loses its heat and moisture from the plains. Thick rain forests envelope the hill slopes and I myself spotted a tiger cub between the tree trunks. The plant life is varied and colorful. The failing light offered a brief sighting of its monastery, which I could not visit. It started drizzling, which increased the cold, reduced visibility and basically slowed our progress. At the fall of dusk, we had arrived in Tenga.

The presence of the defense services in the region is heavy and noticeable, but unlike its presence in Kashmir, not uncomfortable. Every Army officer I met was polite, funny and friendly. In fact, they provide a sense of security and peacefulness. My admiration and respect for them has increased by tenfold since this trip.

My final destination in this journey was Tawang. I strongly recommend this journey, whosoever wishes to make it, travels by road. The proximity to nature revives the mind and refreshes the soul. It truly has a cleansing effect. A weekly helicopter service from Guwahati is an alternative, but, as the say,

The journey is more important than the destination.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb