Going Native


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Andhra Pradesh » Hyderabad
February 25th 2007
Published: February 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christina here.
The air is filled with jasmine... It's jasmine flower season, and the family gave Sheryl & I flowers to wear in our hair. the little girls kept sneaking up behind Sheryl to "fix" her flowers. She pretended not to notice, and they grew bolder. This is the fancy design they finished with.
Tonight we sat with Rachel, the "mom" of all the orphans, and talked, and listened to her laugh. One of my top 10 favorite laughs. You just have to laugh with her!
Rachel's daughter-in-law Pressina "borrowed" me a punjabi, which is like pajama pants and a long, fancy shirt. Some of the girls spent the evening with us, teaching us their clapping games, and trying (poor girls!) to teach me some of their dances. They have threatened me with daily lessons in hope we can do a dance together before I leave. I'm still debating whether or not to inflict them with this challenge.
We met with Vikki tonight and planned out a filming schedule. Wow. it's ambitious. Really ambitious. And here I thought we were going too slow!
I'm going to get some sleep. Last night I kept hearing a loud whistle, like a soccer coach's whistle, intermittently all night. Apparently the night watchmen blow them to scare wild pigs away from the school grounds. I don't know why I didn't think of that explanation!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



25th February 2007

Hi!! I was so excited when I just checked your blog and there were all these entries and pictures. i'm really happy that you guys made it all the way there without too many problems. i wish i were there, it sounds very exciting!
17th March 2007

Uh, Duh@!
Yo, I am so stupid. It took me till tonight to figure out how this thing works. We've missed out on so much partly because of a nasty virus. I can't wait to read all of these to the kids.. they will love it. Also, I can't wait until it is my season to travel. This is so adventurous... but it starts with being adventurous in your own back yard. "A woman can have everything..... just not at the same time" Keep serving Jesus with all your heart... Many are the plans in a man's heart- but it is the Lord's purpose that prevails. I love you. You inspire me.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb