Arrival in the unknown


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
October 6th 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

RJ's big round the world adventure


Hi guys...

We're here! At last we've arrived, and Alison is still suffering from the ol' jet lag. Dragging a bag that has started at a weight of 18.9 kg, we checked all the way through to HK and said goodbye to rents who did not shed a single tear for our departure! Picked up a free copy of the Ed Evening News on plane number 1 and after studying the property pages - t'was a slow news day - discovered both Clare and Jenny Bond have houses for sale on their streets. Not a single 1 in Currie though. Anyways, the journey went without hitch. I had to sit next to a rather weird lady on the 2nd plane to HK though who kept sticking her legs in the air and eating shortbread on top of all the food they provided us with. They showed the Devil wears Prada though, which totally made up for it.

On arrival we found the hostel (may I add Alison has not looked at a single map yet and I cannot get my bearings) and went for a dander around our area (which doubles up as the Red light district apparently). Can't figure out what we're eating but I eventually settled for something on a stick which I think turned out to be balls of fish. It filled a whole. We also strolled through the fish market which is like fish tank fish...not the food. Not good. Many floaters. It brought a tear to my eye remembering poor Mandy.

Since then have been more dandering. We slept in until 1:30 pm on the Wednesday, partly because of jet lag and partly because our room hasn't got a window. Totally mucks me up and I don't know what to wear in the morning as I can't see the weather. Many a markets have been found, which is not good for the purse. However, I now own about 3 new purses so I figure it'll be ok.

Taking it easy today and then planning many a trip tomorrow including my 1st sushi experience. Have decided a blog might be the best bet for actual info of what's going down, but individual emails still important for general chat!

Over and out for now...

That's the general gist.

Advertisement



6th October 2006

Dudes!
You got a blog!! he he!! Sounds like you two are having fun....I'm so jealous!! Not sure is this is posted to everyone in the world so I'm not going to say any thing silly or tell you some of my random stories...that I know you love to hear so I'll finish with a question....did you cry before you left!?xx
9th October 2006

"It filled a whole" RHIANNON ...

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb