Hong Kong done and dusted


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
November 13th 2014
Published: November 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Just arrived at the airport to fly to Australia and taking advantage of free, working wifi. It had better be sunny; the sun didn't put in a single appearance in Hong Kong!

It's hard to describe what I thought of HK - I can't decide if I like it or not. First impressions as I caught the train from the airport were that it was very grey with poor visibility, but that the scenery also changed quickly from roads and concrete to greenery and mountains to container ships and the sea.

They say it has very efficient public transport, and they are right. Not dissimilar to Singapore with the MRT. I mostly went everywhere on foot, although took the tram up to the peak to see the (still grey) views and caught the Star ferry from Tsim Sha Tsui to central, then the bus to the airport today.

The hostel was basic but clean and surprisingly quiet given how noisy the street outside was; it felt like being in a child's room as the room was decorated with trees and clouds in very bright colours!

Christmas is everywhere......Christmas trees, carols, plastic Santas and reindeer. Too early even for me.

I went to the Temple Street night market last night, planning just to look round for half an hour but got drawn in to the busy atmosphere, the bright colours and the slightly musty smell. I forgot how much I like bartering with sellers for their goods and walking away when the price is too high, then going back when they realise they are losing a sale.

So do I like this place? I think so; it has pockets of vibrancy that make it enjoyable, even if some areas seem a bit bland while others are just places to pass through. Some "attractions" like the symphony of lights (a permanent light show projected from 40 skyscrapers) are slightly twee, and the presence of the ubiquitous McDonalds and Pizza Hut was unsurprising but disappointing. Dinner out for £5 was a plus, as were the freshly baked egg tarts for breakfast. Being accosted countless times for massages, watches, tailors got annoying but I have perfected a firm "no!"


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb