The Journey Begins: Get me to the airport on time!!!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
March 1st 2012
Published: March 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

AM GOIN TRAVELLIN MA MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!!!!!!!



I've never been so excited in all my life. I've got everything just about sorted. My bag is packed, my money has been transferred into my Oz account, I have 5,000 Hong Kong dollars in my back burner. All I need now is a full Scottish breakfast (the last one for a long time) and to make my way to the airport in one piece. Easy! or so I thought.



So its half past 3 and I'm rushing about the house like a mad man, jumping from computer to computer trying to download as much music as possible to take with me on my travels. Its taking forever though because my pishy internet connection keeps cutting out. 4 o'clock comes and I'm like 'patch this nonsense, get me to the fucking airport!'

As we're heading in I get a phonecall from Laura (who is already at the airport) saying that our flight which was due to take off at 7pm has been moved forward to 6pm. I begin to panic as we are held up in traffic on the motorway and my dad and my mates who were coming to see us off had still not left. It was torture! We had planned to sit with our family and friends for one last drink first before we part. One last chance to have a chat and get all sentimental and now this chance was in jeopardy.

We park up and rush into the airport to meet Laura and all her family (well most of her family, Sarah Jane, Carole and Jim were still on their way in) Laura and I head down to the desk to check in. We're told that the flight is boarding. My dad arrives. Still no sign of Flav, Rennie, Stokes, Sarah Jane, Carole and Jim. I'm panicing now. We all are! We rush back upstairs where the rest of the family are sitting. Pour a quick farewell shot and start getting ready to leave for the departsure lounge, then I get a phonecall. It's Flav. Their at the airport. I bolt back down to the entrance of the airport to greet them. Thank fuck! These 3 clowns are the best group of cunts I've ever met. We've only been kicking about with each other for a short time but there's a definite connection and I know that we will be all be good friends for years to come.

So back up we go to where the rest of the family are. Still no sign of Sarah Jane and co. and we need to leave NOW! A quick goodbye from everyone there. Just a brief kiss and hug. Not the way we had planned it at all. I was so disappointed that I didn't get more time to say goodbye, especially to my mum (absolute legend!) but that was it. Yes it was brief but everyone there understood the situation. It was especially sad for Laura though. Her sister, auntie and uncle had not made it on time and we had to leave. So off we went. Teary eyed and sad at the way things turned out, but not to worry too much. We have the most amazing couple of years ahead of us. One 12 hour flight and we will be in Hong Kong and then from there AUSTRALIA MA MAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!!!!! Just gee me the whole 1st series of Extra's, some beer, wine, a pillow and a blanket and we'll make it through this horrible plane journey. HONG KONG HERE WE COME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb