First couple of days


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
June 1st 2006
Published: June 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

My cousin and IMy cousin and IMy cousin and I

She's cute, right? According to the Hong Kong Museum of Science, her size is comparable to the average 14 year old Chinese boy. o_O
I forgot my camera cord so any and all pictures up until Marty gets here with my camera cord are from my brother's digital camera. He bought this digital camera from his friend for ten bucks so it's a little weird. A lof of the pictures come out blurry, random focus issues. o_O It's also hard to take a lot of pictures when your brother doesn't want to take pictures or get his picture taken unless he's in the mood.

Dude, Hong Kong is so tiring. I guess that's alright though because walking equals exercise.

Yesterday we spent the day with the aforementioned family members Uncle Wing, his wife, May, and their daughter, 11 year old Tracy. They took us to the Hong Kong Museum of Science which was pretty neat. It was like any other giant museum of science found in any other giant city. 😉 In all seriousness it was pretty freaking cool. A lot of the exhibits were large and hands-on (sounds a little dirty). Some of my favorites include:

* the shadow room where a light would go on and off every 30 seconds and you could imprint your shadow onto the wall.
*
Bed of NailsBed of NailsBed of Nails

That's my dad. This was an exhibit where you could lie on a bed of nails safely because of even weight distribution as long as the nails are set in the right place and there's the right number of them, blah blah blah. Ah, science.
this giant spinny room where it only looked like you were wobbling because of the turning walls.
* a series of physical fitness tests such as testing your balance, ability to jump, measuring your height, eyesight, random stuff just to see how awesome or crappy you are (btw, I'm tall for an Asian girl, I guess that's a given).
* bed of nails.

Dude, my 11 year old cousin clung to me immediately. It's cute the way she seems to... admire me or something but man, can that girl talk up a storm. I guess it keeps me on my toes in trying to remember all the Cantonese I never speak.

Then May took us to the Avenue of the Stars which is really quite gorgeous. It's on the edge of Kowloon so you get a great view of Hong Kong Island. I should have taken a picture but I'm sure I'll go back with Marty to show him. It's so awesome to see all the tall buildings with mountains in the background and the tops of the buildings covered in fog. The Avenue of the Stars is kind of like the Hollywood Walk of Fame; they have
Tiny RoomTiny RoomTiny Room

Oh yeah, my brother got his hair cut, used to be below his shoulders. I think it looks a lot better now. This was taken in a tiny room with a sloped ground and it was supposed to illustrate perception. I really sould have taken a picture of my brother next to the tiny clock but he wouldn't have been able to fit in that part of the tiny room.
stars on the ground with the names of Chinese celebrities and some of them have their handprints. Jet Li's hands aren't very large. o_O There's also a really neat statue of Bruce Lee.

Today, me, my mom, dad, and brother walked around on our own. First we had to get our visas taken care of because we'll be going into mainland China at some point. We're gonna take a train, I'm very excited about that. There's something about train rides that I love. Mi scuzzi, mi scuzzi! Then we went shopping! We've got a long vacation so I'm taking my time with the shopping. I've only gotten a few things. Two pairs of shoes so far though. Everything is so much cheaper than in the states! The only thing you can't find cheaper are the high-class name-brand stuff like Louis Vuitton and Burberry. My cousins love to visit in Florida to go to the outlet stores for that kind of stuff. I want to buy lots of cute clothes and toys. My brother and I found this really kickass Japanese toy store only a few blocks away from our hotel. I am going to buy so many cute, fat
Spinny thingSpinny thingSpinny thing

My cousin and I in the spinny thing. The floor didn't move but the thing over us moved and it made us feel funky.
things!

The food here has been really great so far. The food is cheap too! The exchange rate is crazy. You can get a huge meal for 4 American dollars. Been eating lots of rice.

The next few days are going to be packed with dinners and lunches with more cousins, aunts, and uncles.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bruce LeeBruce Lee
Bruce Lee

You don't mess with Bruce Lee. He's not dead, he's waiting to kick your ass. Oh! And apparently by taking a picture of Mr. Lee, I was able to get a neat shot of Hong Kong Island in the background.
The First ToyThe First Toy
The First Toy

At one point while we were walking around, we passed by a 7-11 (Yes, they have those here) where there were a bunch of cute toy vending machines. So I put money in the Lilo and Stitch Series vending machine and got this Stitch charm. He's in his pajamas and that's one of his cousins from the cartoon series. You can attach this charm to anything, cell phone, purse, backpack, blah blah blah.
Getting a SnackGetting a Snack
Getting a Snack

There are a lot of random food stands with really Asian food. My brother wanted fishballs so he got fishballs. You know, I don't know if fish have balls, but these are meatballs of ground fish. I told him he should smile but he didn't feel like it and then when he finally saw this picture, he's like, "Wow, I look really unhappy!" and I said, "I told you so!"
Fishballs!Fishballs!
Fishballs!

I ate some of the fishballs. I wanted a picture of me with a food so authentically non-American.


2nd June 2006

way to take down those balls!
5th June 2006

Hey
Your brother looks more fobby with his haircut....maybe not so much fobby but more chinese-y I guess :)

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb