Day One


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
May 8th 2006
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Room1Room1Room1

view as i entered our room
OK -- I'm pretty jet lagged so I'm gonna keep this as short as I can.

After a speedy breeze through customs this morning, I rocketed over to the hotel using Hong Kong's swift, modern, and nearly silent rail system. Arriving at the Sheraton, I was sent to some special VIP check-in on the top floor. Must say, that got things off to a nice start. Thanks GAP, Inc!! And thanks to Ed we were booked in a room with an AMAZING panoramic view of Hong Kong Island. I've tried to capture it in these photos, but didn't quite do it justice. The dark picture is my attempt to catch the view from the SHOWER -- because the bathroom wall is all glass, as is the shower door, you can enjoy the view even while showering. So cool!

With perfect timing, Ed showed up on a break from work just after I got into the room. So we had a quick hello, and off he went back to work. After getting settled a bit, I headed upstairs for an excellent complimentary full-service breakfast, complete with window seat to enjoy the stellar view. Had breakfast tofu of the first time,
Room 2Room 2Room 2

view from the SHOWER through the all-glass vanity
and loved it. (Also tried Vegimite, and hated it, but at least tried it.)

Coming back to the room, I tried to figure out what to do with day one. In the end, I planned my afternoon by looking out the window. I noticed that the Hong Kong Museum of Art was just across the street, as was a little shopping, and water's edge boardwalk, and an egg-shaped Science Museum. This seemed like a manageable day one plan. The views from this part of the city are great, as you can tell. The Art Museum was very interesting -- a great blend of traditional and modern works, reflecting the interesting paradox of this city -- steeped in ancient tradition yet imminently current. I also went next-door to the city's MOST luxurious hotel, "The Peninsula" where they were serving high tea, in a lobby surrounded by Gucci, Fendi, Chanel, etc. It's also an architectural treasure, as one of the city's oldest hotels -- and one of it's best examples of modern expansion meshing with original construction. The tall tower in the back is the near-seamless recent addition. You can see the Sheraton just next door -- a bit more modest
View 1View 1View 1

full view framed by the window
in the "street appeal" department ... but leaves NOTHING to be desired in the interior or amenities departments, as noted above.

I've also thrown in a couple other photos -- one of me since my Mom gets mad if I only show pictures of sights. (And since I refuse to take my own picture in public, you get another nice view of the room!) And check out the very funky Diet Coke can/bottle hybrid. I'm such a D.C. freak that I just may bring it home as a souvenir! Though they can keep their regional flavor formula -- it tastes weird over here.

Oh -- and I didn't get pictures of this, but I was also interviewed by a few local uniformed school girls, who I think were working on their English. They asked me some cute questions, some of which smacked just a bit of propaganda. Like "Why do you think that Hong Kong is a Gourmet Paradise?" -- to which I could only answer, "I'm not sure -- I've only had breakfast so far!"

So that's it for now -- tonight I get to go out with Ed and the Banana Republic design team. They
View 2View 2View 2

focus of hong kong skyline view from our room
have graciously invited me in on their work mingling. So more on that tomorrow. Hope all is well on the other side of the world!! Drop me a line any time.

Half-awake but fully grateful --

Christopher


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

View 3View 3
View 3

focus on the museum where i spent my first afternoon
kowloon shore 1kowloon shore 1
kowloon shore 1

view from the boardwalk along kowloon's shore
kowloon shore 2kowloon shore 2
kowloon shore 2

view from the boardwalk along kowloon's shore
Kowloon Shore 3Kowloon Shore 3
Kowloon Shore 3

sculpture i was admiring right before the HK school girls invterviewed me
PeninsulaPeninsula
Peninsula

hotel view from the Kowloon shore -- the uber-fancy Peninsula hotel is center (where we ended up having dinner, actually). You can see the Sheraton on the right ... not as pretty from the outside, but uber-fancy inside for SURE!
HK DCHK DC
HK DC

diet coke hong kong style
meme
me

hi mom! ;)


10th May 2006

Thanks
This is great, I look forward to more. If I tell you sights to see, will you? Kind of a choose your own adventure Blog? ;-)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb