LAST DAY IN HONG KONG


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
May 1st 2006
Published: May 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Did another jaunt to the Islands first thing this morning.

Hopped on the fast boat to Lamma Island, a small pleasant community half way between Hong Kong and Cheang Chau, (where I was the other day).

I prefered this spot to Cheang Chau, it was a lot more chilled and relaxed, and is all in all very scenic, (except for the annoying power plant that always at the last minute manages to detract from the views).

There are two towns on the Island, both of whose names I've forgotten, (bugger... I swore I'd bring my literature with me), but basically this morning I landed at one, and then walked across the island to the other, (took about an hour with little stops along the way).

There's possibly the best beach I've seen so far on the island, quite a lot of bannana plantations, and I get the distinct impression this place is probably a favourite watering hole for artists and hippies.

The walk across the island is mildly strenuous in a few parts, but nowt like the marathon I went on the other day, and on reaching the other side the other town has a long line of seafood restaurants waiting to welcome you, which probably would be the ideal way for most folk to finish their stroll, but I had a lot to do, and the ferry back to Central had just docked.

Not only had it docked but a veritable invasion of Japanse tourists swarmed off it, indicating I did right to come here early before the influx, and also was oddly ironic seeing as Lamma was occupied by the Japanese in WWII and used for training Kamikazi pilots.

(I know what your thinking... I don't know how you'd train them either)?

When I got back to Central I took myself off for a wander up the mid level elevators.

These are actually a massive series of escalators that take you right up the steep incline of the mid levels past all the souvenire shops, eateries and bars allowing you to hop off at anything that takes your fancy.

It's sort of the conveyor belt from the generation game in reverse!

I'm still stalking the streets trying to find 'IZO' so on the way up eyeballed all the DVD shops, and then walked back down stopping off in every one.

My theory is IT IS THERE... the problem is I can't get anyone who works in these stores to understand WHAT THE HELL I'M AFTER.

One woman who I thought I was making some headway with, (after I'd written it down for her), looked at me confused, then shrugged at her assistant and barked back at me...

'WHA IS IT?'

I felt like going into full Basil Fawlty style rant...

'WHAT IS IT! WHAT THE HELL DO YOU THINK IT IS... IT'S A BLOODY DVD FOR GODS SAKE WOMAN... THIS IS A DVD SHOP... THIS SHOP... THIS PLACE THAT YOU WORK... SELLS DVD'S... PEOPLE... LIKE ME... COME IN HERE TO BUY DVD'S... WHAT THE HELL DO YOU THINK I'D BE ASKING YOU FOR... HELLO MADAM CAN I PURCHANCE BUY FROM YOU HALF A POUND OF SODDING MANGOS? '

But there seemed little point, if she wasn't going to get the concept that 'IZO' was a DVD title I suspect my sarcasm would have been wasted as well.

Have had some Achievements today, I found a pint of milk that tasted like a pint of milk, (and it was SO GOOD)!

And I found somewhere to transfer my current set of photos onto CD, clearing my cameras memory for China.

I went back in the afternoon and packed... cos I knew I wouldn't want to do it tonight, and anyhow today has been the hottest day so far and by 1am I was ready to stop exploring.

Met my group tonight.

Not too sure I'm that keen on them, (But undoubtedly I'm being unjust, judging books by covers and probably by the time you next hear from me I'll think they're all great).

The surprising thing is there are 18 of us.

EIGHTEEN!

That's a lot for one tour by my experience.

When I was sailing in fiji there were 6 of us.

9 in Egypt.

8 in India.

All manigeable as a number, all easy to fit into a little working group, eighteen sounds like a lot to me!

That's 18 including B2 our guide.

I kid you not, that is his name, (no he's not an android), either his parents had so many children they decided on an alphanumerical system for naming them, or... er... maybe it's really something like Beetoo, and, (for reasons best known to him), he just signs himself B2.

Hes not Chinese but Indian, and knows Vipal, (my guide from 2 years ago when I was in India).

As for the rest, (the ones I've seen), they're a mixture of Brits, Kiwi's, Canadians, and I think there is an Irish couple lurking somewhere!

I've in all honesty not had time to make any better aquaintance than our initial meet this evening to hand over vouchers etc, but there was just something that said these folk aint been a lot of strange places, (which I kind of thought to be honest anyone choosing to go to China probably would have been)!

I'm an obnoxious travel snob I know, and I'll probably be undone and be the one who most has problems, but tonight when I was chatting to these two lads from Bristol and I asked them what they'd done since arriving in Hong Kong since saturday they replied with...

'Er... well... we've just been looking about really... didn't really know what was here... oh we saw that light thing down at the harbour the other night... that was good!'

My India compadres had been places, they'd roughed it, they knew the score, I still have my suspicions that this China trip might be a new experience for a lot of my new travelling companions, and with a large number to contend with that could be problematic.

Still enough of my doomsaying, (what the heck do I know at the end of the day)!

Spent tonight doing last things.

Last night in Hong Kong!

Went to the harbour to watch the light show for the last time.

(Still not sold on that by the way... I just think it could be a lot bigger and better).

Then I did my last crossing on the Star Ferry, (was very nearly my last anything as well), just before stepping onto the gangplank a sudden wave hit the ferry and the whole thing fell away from the harbour with people jumping this way and that not to fall in the water.

Then it was my last visit to Chater Square, (by the way that whole area has been hooching with packs of women sitting in line on the pavement, doing their hair, and having their photos taken, for the last two days... not sure why, it's got to be selections for a beauty contest or chinese style pop Idol thing I'm guessing but all very sureal).

Had last ride on the peak tram, and last attempt to look down on Hong Kong, (which actually didn't work cos it was way too cloudy)!

(Did buy some good paintings though).

Then goodbye to Hong Kong park, Pacific Plaza, and finally A MASSIVE SPENDING SPREE AT THE TEMPLE STREET NIGHT MARKETS!

Don't know how but I seem to have a lot of Hong Kong money left over and discovered tonight that I can't use it in China, so would have to get it changed.

My memory of trying to get money changed at Borders in India is that I got seriously walled, so this time I thought sod it, I'll do my present buying now using the cash I've got on me, and then not buy another souvenire until at least Xian.

(So if your expecting owt from me, chances are it came from Hong Kong).

It does mean I've got more to carry than I'm happy with, but at least I have some things that I knew were on my list, which I might not find later on.

(Not bloody 'Izo' though)!

By the way, in case your wondering I've had a great time in Hong Kong.

QUITE LITERALLY EVERYTHING SEEMS TO WORK HERE, (wonder if all China is going to be like that)?

Anyhow I gotta go... it's an early start tomorrow.

I'm not totally sure when you will here from me again, will depend greatly on internet access and I suspect there may be more than a few areas where it just wont be available.

Note to Mum... Just reinforcing what I said on the phone... if you get no emails or phone calls for a bit it's cos I'm out of communication range... DO NOT WORRY... I AM WITH OTHER PEOPLE... ALL IS WELL AND I WILL GET IN CONTACT WHENEVER I CAN.

Note to Claudia, Jan and Barbara... hello, thanks for your comments, I'm not ignoring you, just working to the clock with this local internet provider.

Hope all is well, I'll let you know how I'm doing, when I can.

All the best!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb