Hong Kong: 21 Jun 07 to 25 Jun 07


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
June 21st 2007
Published: November 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Diary Notes: Hong Kong Trip 21 to 25 June 2007


Exchange Rate approximately AUD$1 = HK$6.70

I wanted to see the Hong Kong Stock Exchange but it was closed on the Saturday. I caught a ferry to Central, it cost me HK$2.20 one way, and I walked towards the International Finance Centre (IFC) as per the guidebook I had read the evening before. IFC1 and IFC2 are two large buildings with shopping complexes and various other buildings attached to the complex. I found the HK Stock Exchange after walking around and the guards informed me it was closed (during business hours, a tour is available). I took photographs of the front of the building and the surrounding sculptures, and then walked to the Hong Kong Gardens. Here, I ventured into the Hong Kong aviary and then to the Visual Arts Centre.

The Visual Arts Centre had an exhibition from a young Hong Kong artist whose pieces are about the Chinese Government’s ‘One country, two systems’ decade of rule, using a theme of two into one and one into two, or creation and destruction. I found the exhibition inspiring. I then walked through the gardens and took some photos of the lotus flowers and then made my way towards where I was teaching. I have neglected to mention at this point that I was to teach on Hong Kong Island at a different building for Saturday only and the Hong Kong Garden was close by. I think the area is called Wan Chai or something similar. I travelled around the island on the local tram system just to check it out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb