Arrival in Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
February 16th 2006
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is the begining of my trip. The plan was to arrive in Hong Kong and follow a tour group from Hong Kong to Taiwan( this was recommended because China's tour group seem to have lower standards in terms of accomedations).

I haven't been back to Hong Kong for about 5 years so my relatives there haven't seen me in a while. The main person I actually was visiting was my uncle. I call my uncle, Big uncle, because of his age and ranking on my dad side of the family. The Chinese do not usually call relatives by their names. So they refer to people by their number in rank then by their relations...ex: fourth uncle. The funny thing is that my big uncle is not all that big. The youngest uncle who I call Small uncle is rather jolly and weighs 100 kg.

Big uncle is the eldest on my dad side and has no children so he prizes on all his neices and nephews. Sometimes I think to myself that I have it set. If I really don't find a girl that I want to settle down with, I can just be single for the rest
Me and Uncle at Dim SumMe and Uncle at Dim SumMe and Uncle at Dim Sum

We had a little feast...
of my life and live my life through my sister's kids...hahahaha. I can just borrow the kids for a period of time and then toss them back to my sisters when I can't handle them...hmmm I wonder what their reactions are right now as they reading this.

I arrived to Hong Kong airport, got my luggage, went through customs, and started walking out to the open area. I saw my uncle right away, but I wanted to test to see whether my uncle recognized me. He was leaning against one of the gate and I stared right at him. I walked closer and closer and closer until I actually walked right passed him. HE DIDN"T EVEN CALL OUT MY NAME, EVEN TRY TO STOP ME OR EVEN MAKE EYE CONTACT. Finally, I back tracked and said, "Big uncle! I'm right here in front of you."
He smiled and we started to walk towards to the elevator. The whole time, big uncle stared at me as if he's never met me.
So I asked, "What!?!?!"
Uncle: When I trying to search for you, I was trying to look for a FAT, CHUBBY, SHORT kid.
Me: haha....thanks....

See, now you
Evan and IEvan and IEvan and I

My sister Hani's baby boy.
why I sometimes I'm kind of self cautious about my weight...cause I got family members that think I look like a BIG HIPPO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Winnona, Royce, and BelleWinnona, Royce, and Belle
Winnona, Royce, and Belle

My sister Jade's kids. The two older ones, Winnona and Royce, are twins. And then there is baby Belle.


1st March 2006

Pretty kids
Very handsome and pretty kids, I wonder who is the father???????
1st March 2006

Resemblance
Hey Jonathan, I can tell the resemblance with your big uncle, the nose!! You guys have the same identical, nose dude! Also, has anyone told you that your niece Belle looks like you! Man, oh man, those genes....that's why they say....IT RUNS IN THE FAMILY! No kidding.
1st March 2006

YAY!
Finally..an UPDATE!! hahaha. okay, so I should definitely be studying for my midterm in a couple hours, but when I got the e-mail saying you updated, I couldn't wait to read it! I miss you Jon-chan and I hope you finally got the info you needed from me. someone's gonna turn 21 soon in 25 days!! :)
2nd March 2006

Now there are some high quality babies.
3rd March 2006

Spiderman!!!!
We have two of the same Spiderman costumes at my house!!! We could all get together and rule the world!!!!!!!! (with webs).

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb