Travelling and telephones


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
January 28th 2006
Published: February 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have just add a map of the countries I have visited to help you see where I have been.
Visited Countries
My Visited Countries


Get your own Visited Countries Map from Travel Blog

So many things have happened in a week’s time! I’ll just start at the beginning and relate all that’s exciting.

Last Saturday night Dr. Lian kindly offered to take me out shopping and for an American dinner. So, we walked down to the East Gate of the University which opens onto Bunham Road. We crossed several streets and chatted while waiting for a bus to take us to the central part of Hong Kong Island. Listening for the bus to pull up reminded me how traffic patterns are different when people drive on the left side of the road. I listen for buses pulling up on my right. When getting on the bus, I turn right after swiping my Octopus Card to find a seat or a hand hold. The Octopus Card works with all public transit except taxis. One can add money to the card at 711 stores or other grocers.

With Dr. Lian’s help in translating difficult questions, I purchased a mobile phone that will talk when the right software is installed. Because I don’t yet have a Hong Kong ID card, and I didn’t have an original proof of address letter, the mobile store staff were reluctant to allow me to open an account. Dr. Lian came to the rescue. He now has three mobile phones on his account. Mine, his, and his daughter’s. My bill will even be sent to his house. I will pay him monthly for my bill. And, once automatic payment is set up, my money will be withdrawn from my banking account each month. The phone is a Nokia brand, and I will purchase software that will make the phone talk! So, I’ll be able to know who is calling me. I’ll know about my reception level and my battery’s charge. I’ll go back to the Hong Kong Society for the Blind on Valentine’s Day to get the software installed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb