Planes, trains, buses and trams - I've Arrived


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After an11 hour flight, I finally arrived at my first stop off, Hong Kong. The flight was okay, an Indian man heading to Melbourne kept me company. The food was pretty bad, so were the films (Marley and Me, and Yes Man).

Got the bus pretty easy straight to the door of my hostel, but as it was only 8am, I had 4 hours to spare before I could get into my room. I was pretty tired and smelly after the flight, but it was a good chance to do some exploring. I headed straight for the ferry pier and jumped on the 'Star Ferry' to Hong Kong Island. The ferry costs a whopping 20p for the 7 minute journey (the guide books told me the time, I'm not that much of a geek!!)

I didn't really know where I was going, so I just wandered aimlessly. I ended up at the mid-level escalators. These are basically escalators in the middle of the street, as Hong Hong is basically built on an island, to help people go about their business a little easier. However, they only go down hill (to take people to the centre for work in the morning etc) until 10am. As I was oot and aboot so early, I ended up having to walk up the hill, as people went down the hill past me, just to experience them, oh well. I then again wandered in amongst the skyscrapers until midday when I could get into my room. The room is tinyyyyyyyyy. A toilet /shower (where the shower is located above the toilet, and thus have to hold it for the entire shower unless your a midget) and the bedroom, which is a bed in a tight corner, with a rock hard mattress. It'll do for 2 nights nonetheless. I slept for a good few hours as I was still knackered from the flight.

When I awoke, I decided I would go out and experience the night markets. They sell everything and anything, and the smells coming from some of the stalls is revolting. Also, on the main strip of Kowloon - Nathan Road - every second man is an indian trying to sell you either "copy watch" or a fine tailored suit (??). After wandering the streets, it was tea time. I found a nice wee place and settled down to fried rice and some steak thing, the menu was in cantonese and everything!! (I've got pictures to prove it but I cant get the camera to load on this pc. I eventually retired to bed after a good first day.

Wednesday, I awoke and I was a man on a mission. I decided to jump on a bus to the south side of Hong Kong and go to Stanley. Once a little fishing port, it is now basically full of british people on a day trip to the market. The market wasn't up to much, so I decided to go for a pint. It was a good pint, but for a pint of stella it was just under a fiver! I thought I'd indulge myself as my funds won't last. I then wandered along the beach. It wasn't very busy as its still spring time. Although it is probably about 22oC or something, and very humid. When I got back from Stanley, I decided to go up the Peak. Hong Kong's tallest point and itt has a tram running up it. It is not only a tourist attraction, but a lot of people use it to go home to the houses/tenements that are built on it. It was jam packed and I had to stand as the tram goes up at an incline of almost 90 degrees!! As you get off at the terminus, you immediately walk into a tourist shopping centre, with people trying to sell you all types of tat. I eventually managed to find an exit after 10 minutes of searching, and I was greeted with glorious panoramic views over the city. It was a bit foggy and hazey due to the pollution I think, but you do get a good view. On a very good day, you would be able to see for miles and miles. I then found a wee walk and done a circular walk of the peak for an hour. It was nice to get away from the huslte and bustle of the city.

After the peak, I wandered the streets again. I started walking towards the Wan Chai district, but got a bit bored. Its basically just skyscraper heaven, and as time was getting on, I decided to head back to Kowloon and my hostel. This time on a tram! They're quite cool, just hop on at the back, and get off at the front, where you deposit your 2 Hong Kong Dollars (again, about 20p or something). I was now at the ferry port of Hong Kong, but I had not satisfied my needs for public transport yet, and it was time for the MTR (Mass Transit Railway, subway to everyone else).

It took me under the harbour and right to the front door of my hostel which is bra, and that brings me to what I'm doing now. I'm heading out to see the Symphony of Lights now, where all the skyscrapers light up the sound of music (not THE Sound of Music, just some lights flashing with accompanying music). After that, I might have a look at the markets and go for a curry. It's been a busy day today so an early night shall be in order.

Tomorrow I've got my flight to Sydney at night. During the day I'll just do some aimless wandering and see what I find, and then go to the airport. I shall update you all then when I arrive in the land of Oz. Hopefully I'll manage to get some photos uploaded then too. Catchy.

X

Advertisement



9th April 2009

little bro blogging
well done eddy, your blogs are great, looking forward to seeing the pics. see you affie soon! xxx

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb