Chinese New Year Parade - The World's Happiest Party!!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
January 26th 2009
Published: January 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday 26.01.09

I know this is the one you've all been waiting for, with the story and photos of the new year parade, but I'm going to keep you hanging on a little bit longer.

The Daytime Tour
I'm not normally one for joining organised tours like this, but I joined it basically so that I could get a seat at the parade - I didn't fancy standing around for hours before it started, and trying to keep my spot!

Our first stop was The Peak Tram, so, since I'd already done it on my own, it didn't bother me that we took the tram up, had time for a few few photos then got back in our minibus which had come to meet us to go back down.

We then headed to Aberdeen harbour - it's certainly nothing like our Aberdeen Harbour from what we saw - we had a ride on a sampan around the harbour, saw a house boat, then back on the bus.

Off we went then for a visit to a jewellery factory - this was probably the strangest bit of the whole day - it was just a showroom, but to make it seem like more of a tour we sat and listened while a lady pointed at pictures of different parts of the jewellery design process! I didn't buy anything - the few pieces I liked were all a bit expensive for me.

After that was Repulse bay - we were only meant to drive through, but since we were ahead of schedule (since none of the people on my tour were interested in buying the jewellery and all wanted out as quickly as possible!), we were allowed off the bus for a walk along the beach and saw some more temples and shrines. It was a nice beach, and if you were to go there, you never know, you might bump into Jackie Chan, whose Hong Kong residence is around there somewhere!

Later we headed over to Kowloon peninsula for dinner and the main event!

2009 International Chinese New Year Night Parade - The World's Happiest Party!!

I'm not going to say much on this, other than, this was fantastic, and, if you ever have the opportunity to be in China during Chinese New Year, then you have to see the parade! Not all of my pictures came out very well, but plenty came out fine. I'm going to stop now and let the pictures speak for themselves! Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 128, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



11th February 2010

We really enjoy your photos / videos / posts and would like to use your photos / videos / posts in the Festive Hong Kong 2010 website for promoting Hong Kong. Your photos / videos / posts will be featured in relation to the contents. We will be sure to give you full credit as the photographer / contributor and provide a link to your original works. Upon the above mentioned website launched on 14 February, 2010, your [photos / videos / posts] may be displayed in this URL, FestiveHongKong2010.com. If you would prefer that we not use your photos / videos / posts, please email us at festivehongkong2010@hktb.com Thank you for your support. Hong Kong Tourism Board

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb