Touch Down !!!!!!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last contact.....Last contact.....Last contact.....

My last contact with my family....thanks for the mad money !!!!!
So this is the first entry of my travel blog and the first couple of postings will probably be crap until I get the swing of things. I left Canada yesterday and I arrived in Hong Kong last night to some nice humid weather, I never thought I'd be saying that. The flight was...... well as good as one could expect. Seat was fine, movies stunk (although the Asian flicks seemed quite good even though I couldn't read the sub-title) all and all a good experience for a fourteen hour flight !!!! It was cool to fly over the Alaskan pennisula, I noticed that if you leave from Toronto to Hong Kong you get to fly over the Arctic Circle and parts of Mongolia. The meals were kinda funny I guess, well more the order that the meals came in was entertaining. First meal was chicken and mash potatoes, then beef and rice and then just Mr. Noodle. Its like the cuisine was getting more Asian the closer we got to HK.
I took the bus into Kowloon from the airport, double decker=sweet !!!! Got to the very front of the top deck so I got a good view of
Room with a viewRoom with a viewRoom with a view

I wish I got the room with the balcony....lol....
the city as we entered. I had no idea what stop to get off because the driver wasn't announcing it (he's supposed to), but I picked what I thought was the right stop and bang.....I was right !!!!! It turns out that I probably shouldn't have booked a reso for my hostel becasue you can get way better rates bartering with the locals but my room was really clean and I like it, probably one of the more professional hostels in Chungking Mansion. I got a room with a view.....lol..... the view is the centre of the building kinda like a courtyard but with no courtyard. I went out for a bite to eat and I met up with a Brit named Dave who was just finishing his tour of Asia which began in Septermber, so he showed me some sights and gave me some travel tips.
So although Hong Kong will be one of the more expensive stops in Asia, most things are cheap (except good coffee.....which is pretty much a neccissity for me). So today don't know what I really am going to do, lots to see and not a lot of time to see it. I
Road work...Road work...Road work...

The 'make-up' underneath the roads are strange.... its full of thick concrete and old metal roofing, some garbage...you know....good stuff
hope this posts well and the pics make it up. For now.....cheers y'all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Concrete JungleConcrete Jungle
Concrete Jungle

The trees here are really neat becasue they come out from the concrete beds....


1st June 2008

I heard...
The asian women fancy the white man. Now that you are in hong kong, lets start an import export business.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb