Hong Kong's Dirty Side


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
October 9th 2005
Published: October 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

WOW!

Had an amazing time last night with Ray and his mates. Got the full Hong Kong tour - all the sights, sounds and info! We wandered around Kowloon and ended up on the Avenue Of Stars, which turned out to be some LED's in the pavement, with the usual Hollywood stars' moulded hand-prints. We watched the astounding multimedia sound and light show across the bay, where each of the skyscrapers flashed and flickered though the rainbow in time to some dramatic opera-dance piped music.

Ray seems to be the man to know, and we were soon sorted for our intriguingly titled 'rave' night out at the....International Conference Center(!). It turned out to be really good. About 3000 people i think (me being the only Westerner - I kid you not!), clubbing to the tunes of some odd guy in a red sequinned spangly top and an excess of face glitter. Got proper mashed, although I didn't quite get into the dancing too much, cause of the 'school hall' feel of the place - ahh, memories of that fateful Brighton pride....

Got back to my hostel at about 8 in the morning, ready for a few hours kip and then a trip to the airport for my onward flight to Melbourne...or so I thought....I was sure the plane was meant to depart that night, but having checked my ticket it turned out to be tomorrow so I have another fantastic night here! Yippeee! Have moved to the YMCA, (deern, den durr, dern dern de der de dern durrr.....Young Man...!), in Kowloon, so at least this gives me chance to check out the biggest sitting Buddha in the world on Lantau Island.

Just had Shrimp Won Ton soup with noodles down the road from Knutsford Terrace and am currently sitting in a naff English-type pub, simply because they serve pints - I'm slowly nursing a HK$45 Tetleys! Bliss!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 25; qc: 114; dbt: 0.1605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb