HongKong & Kowloon


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Kowloon
November 18th 2006
Published: November 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tower-ScapeTower-ScapeTower-Scape

View of HongKong Island from Kowloon
Greetings,

Sorry for the lack of photos on this entry. I snapped this hazy shot on my first morning in HongKong. I was staying in a pretty swank hotel so especially in the evenings there were million dollar views to be had. Spent the first days shopping with the fam and doing some sightseeing.

We checked out the views from "The Peak" on HongKong Island preceeded by an extreemly steep tram ride to the peak tower. We joked that we'd probably arrive only to find a mall at the top as the shopping malls and arcades in HongKong extend in a never ending maze in the main tourist districts. So, we arrived into yes a 7 story mall in which you had to wind your way through to get to the top. Definitely overwhelming sensations as you escalate up this glass walled skinny tower full of electronics goods beeping and glittery do-dads all balanced high above the HongKong skyline with Jackie Chan cut outs and videos playing in every corner.

I did get out to see a Hong Kong for the masses. The less touristy parts which shock and thrill the senses. A world so different than my own that it creates a sensation of weightlessness and disorientation...in a good way!

In the evenings my old friends with whom I studied KungFu back in the day took me on a tour through hong kong life at night. We ate crazy food that at first look slighlty nauseated me, however, once I got up the courage -tasted great and gave me lots of energy. I think it was various animal parts that probably are not in high demand at my local grocery store.

In Kowloon I went back to the old KungFu studio of the Lam family to get some healing done. The family has been practicing kungfu for at least 4 generations that I know of, probably more. They also practice "DieDa" Hit medicine which treats injuries from stong forces such as kungfu strikes or over training. 6 years ago they treated a hip problem I'd had since high school and in 3 treatments fixed the problem for 5 years. So I went back to get their treatments again. I'll write some more about that later.

Unfortunately, I had to leave HongKong sooner than later. Last time I was here I spent a pleasent 7 weeks, this time about 5 days. Life sometimes throws things at you which you don't see coming. So now I'm back in the states much to my surprise. Luckily, the ski slopes are open and that just might make up for any lost travels.

Peace.
Kelly




Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb