And then the brand new TV died


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
March 3rd 2013
Published: March 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Cast iron pansCast iron pansCast iron pans

love them
Sunday afternoon for me, thought I would catch up on my blog.... Let's see ..



Monday ( the 26th) the TV arrived, was set up and my wonderful friend John hooked it up to cable and HD,etc so when I got home I found the 3 of them around the telly... Went to carambas which is a mexican restaurant off of Elgin street for our last night of dinner together and we ended our night at McSorley's Irish pub.

The work week was hectic with projects and things to get done- I was very happy to see Friday come. Left work on time- 5:30 pm so I could make my mani/ pedi appointment. So relaxing...

Stopped at Yorshire Pudding for a beer and some dinner and then back home to unwind- I know exciting...

Saturday woke up with my list of things to do and was thrown off balance when I went to turn the TV on- and nothing. So unplugged everything, then unhooked everything,waited 30 mins- hooked and plugged it all back up- NOTHING. Tried the power button on the TV- NOthing. So finally called SONY- after find an english speaking customer service rep-
the basics the basics the basics

need pb and j :)
they told me to do what I had already done.. so then they said the earliest they could be here is Tuesay from 4-6, I was like well that is not going to work so we haggled for about 10 mins before I got them to come at a time on Tuesday that I can be home- fingers crossed- the darn thing is not even a week old!.

So I decided to go for a hike in the park which is down the street and then to find some pots and pans. Purchased some beautiful Le Creuset cast iron pans- can't wait to use them- Tacos for dinner tonight! The funny part is I keep forgetting that everything I do I am on foot now so I walk out like- this won't be bad carrying these heavy pans on a 15 min walk up the hill- LOL- that was one heck of a workout.



Today the excitment was cleaning the house and trying a new supermarket that the concierage ( Mani) told me about- it is located near my office so I headed on down to Central from the MidLevels. Oliver's is my new favorite food store and I will not shop anywhere else after shopping there. It has Dean and Deluca Brand, Stonewall brands, kraft, etc.. The seafood, meat and deli is unbelievable. The vegetables, fruit and bakery are so good. I am excited to make my taco's tonight and pack my lunch for tomorrow- the little things- ha ha - Oh the best part of Olivers- they have Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce- that makes everything all good...



Again, I keep forgetting that I am on foot so the grocery bags got heavy about 1/2 way back up the midlevels- thank goodness for the escalator which saves me from walking up all the stairs. I head to Hangzhou at the end of this week for work but then I am staying the weekend to visit with my friends- looking forward to it- just hope it warms up a bit in HZ.

The weekend after that I am going to try and explore some new areas of HK which I haven't seen yet before I head back to Boston for the Debbie and Mike Weddingpalozaa... event !!! Looking forward to seeing my friends and family and to celebrate Mike and Debbie's wedding along with Maryellen, Ann Marie, Anthony and Matthew's birthdays!!! I took a few more pics of my place- it is starting to look lived in, along with some sights I saw on my trip back and forth to the supermarket today, the food I bought- LOL..



The one big thing that fascinates me here and I keep wanting to investigate is the Sunday ritual of the helpers. They are in masses along the street, the over head walkways- they all have a day off on Sunday- basically they are kicked out of their houses that they live in by their bosses and they all congrete in certain areas. Each ethnic group has their own location. It just amazes me - how do they all know each other why are some groups so large and others there are only two?? It is very intriguing.



Hope you all had a nice weekend- Monday is looming close for me..



Sue


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Burgers on top /sushi belowBurgers on top /sushi below
Burgers on top /sushi below

view from the escalator on my way up to home after food shopping
SundaySunday
Sunday

this is the pedestrian walkway near work- heading to the midlevels- this is the helpers hanging out
this just killed methis just killed me
this just killed me

this they find acceptable- her dress is so short that when she was in front of me in the escalator- you could see everything -UGH
outside the mall area outside the mall area
outside the mall area

after i left prince building which has oliver supermarket along with all high end stores- this was in the street
the inside kitchenthe inside kitchen
the inside kitchen

stove, fridge - cooking done here


Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb