DAY ONE - Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
December 22nd 2011
Published: December 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

And so the journey begins.

A month or so of sibling fun and festivities has finally commenced after about a year of dreaming, planning and stress, I sit here in my hotel bed in Hong Kong with my sister.

It has been an extremely long day of travelling. First leaving behind the gloomy weather plaguing Sydney at this "summer" time, we boarded a nine hour flight on a cramped, economy flight (with more babies then I have seen in all my past flights combined) with scarcely many asians - surprising as it was a Cathay Pacific flight to Hong Kong. Then it was a rather scenic but long bus ride to the Hong Kong Island. As much as I enjoy the fast pace of the double decker buses, every single turn seemed to be way too wide and countless times I thought we were going to crash into poles, sidewalks, or people.

Thank goodness for the free wifi on the bus too. and the good news just continued when there was free wifi in the hotel too (hence the blogging).

That night we also went for a hot pot dinner with our extended family. We ended up staying until about midnight when everyone had left - save the room of karaoke singers (who really couldn't sing and were really quite drunk) - including waiters. You know you've outstayed your welcome when the lights start to turn off too. But I must say that the food was much better than I expected - or rather better than any hot pot we can have in Australia. Now THAT's why you go to Asia for good Asian food!

Krystal's best news though, came when Vampire Diaries was playing on the television that night. Shame our hotel doesn't have the cable channel Starworld that plays all the American television shows. It has gotten us through our past stays at other HK hotels with a multi-day marathon of 30 rock (ok that wasn't so great - but the general idea of a whole channel just for my US shows is great)



And since I actually have no idea what I wrote in this whole post (and shhh its actually the second day and I'm just finishing a post about the first day that we accidentally posted without finishig) I will now leave. Sorry

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb