Typhoon day!


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
September 29th 2011
Published: September 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Now I finally have something exciting to report, today I was woken up just before my alarm at about 6.15 by some excited shouts of 'T8, T8!!!' from the living room. Hong Kong has a rating of typhoon warnings which goes T1, T3 and T8, and if a T8 is declared school gets closed! Obviously we heard about Typhoon Nesat in the phillipines but they hardly ever make their way over here, there wasn't a T8 warning all last year for the CNET's. Last night there was a T1 warning, and when I went to sleep it was really windy, but I never even thought about it getting worse. So when I woke up this morning, it was like christmas had come early, I never got a snow day at school! So at 6.45, when it didn't seem to be raining yet, I went off the 7/11 for water and sandwiches in case we couldn't go out later, when I went downstairs the security guard grabbed me and pointed at the typhoon warning repeatedly, I had to mime drinking and eating for a while before he let me go. It was a bit blowy but no worse than a normal rainy day in england! When I got back we all went back to sleep and now we're just pottering about watching t.v and catching up on stuff because it is absolutely hammering down now. Still nothing that would be out of the ordinary in England though so I think we've swapped weather what with you lot out in the heat and me stuck inside because of the pouring rain and wind! It even made BBC news! - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-15103005
So here's a few pictures of the last week as promised!
xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb