Hong Kong island


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
May 8th 2010
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

In the morning I had my shower, woke the others and we headed for the Giant Buddha. The cable car to the Buddha went through layers of mist before the Buddha came into view. After climbing the stairs, doing a lap of the statue and reading about how much money the monks need to build a new wall and how much it will cost you for Buddha to take care of you. I love religion. When we got back to the hostel we split up, I went to a travel agent to organise my train tickets from Hong Kong to Shenzhen then Nanning and into Hanoi. I was told this would take four days, Hong Kong is nice enough but it’s an expensive city and I wasn’t prepared to hang about longer than needed, especially with roaches. In the travel agent I overheard a couple of Canadians trying to organise their route and tours, I offered some advice which they took gladly and we all made plans to go back to the mainland the next morning but first of all we wanted to get the Star Ferry and check out Hong Kong Island. The island has lots of shops and high rises. That evening we went up onto Victoria Peak for a photo opportunity at the viewpoint, unfortunately it was cloudy so it wasn’t all we’d hoped for. When the mist broke for a few moments we did catch part of the light show and a chance for good photos. We took the ferry back to the island hoping to get a good picture of the skyline from the boat. At the other side I introduced the group to the Fanta Jelly in a can. It’s a jelly drink you shake to create jelly and it’s great. We should all write to coca cola and have this type of Fanta on the shelves ASAP. A few beers later and we were ready to say goodbye to Hong Kong

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb