Getting There is Half the Battle


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
November 1st 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally on the plane to HongKongFinally on the plane to HongKongFinally on the plane to HongKong

I was starting to think it wouldn't really happen. On my way, baby!
November 1, 2009

So the adventure begins . . . I am off to Hong Kong to present and teach at the Reebok Asian Pacific regional meeting. Unfortunately, Reebok lost my original seat on a direct flight out of NYC, so my new American was from Newark to LA and then Cathay Pacific to HK. This is where the trouble begins. With Air Force One on the same path as my plane, the first leg of my flight is delayed by about 2 hours.

Once in the air it almost looks like I might make it with some time, but upon landong my plane has to be taxied in, killing all chances of ever making my flight. As I exit the plane, people around me are cursing Obama and arguing with the airline representatives.

I was given a new itinerary for 10 PM the following evening. I immediately try calling in to Hong Kong with no answer, so I take liberties to get myself to the Sheraton nearby and wait to hear from RBK. After several phone calls with RBK debating whether to get me on an earlier flight they finally decide it is too much hassle (plus my bags were going to be on the 10 PM anyways), and I will come a day late. I'm just crossing my fingers this doesn't cut into my sight seeing time! 😊

So Monday I spend studying, working, and buying myself some clean clothes (2 days in the same clothes is one thing but 3 days is a little much!). When I finally take off that night, my bad luck continues as I flag down the hotel shuttle to LAX. As I take a seat the shuttle's engine dies repeatedly. Thank goodness I had given myself at least 3 hours to get there!

After finally arriving at LAX I take a seat in the lounge and am forced to watch my Yankees lose to the Phillies . . . oh how I wish I would be in NYC for Game 7! Love that Yankee energy!

Time flies and soon I am relaxing and being catered to in business class with delicious food, getting some studying in along with some movie watching (500 Days of Summer was super cute!), and even getting in about 8 hours of sleep! Hong Kong here I come!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0936s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb